Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal assembly polls 2024: Cong left with 19 contenders

First Published: 1st April, 2024 18:51 IST

Of the 34 candidates announced by the party, 5 abruptly withdrew, leaving 29 contenders in the race. Of the 29 remaining, 10 failed to submit their nominations

Despite the initial announcement of 34 candidates, the Congress in Arunachal Pradesh is now left with 19 contenders only for the upcoming Assembly elections.

Of the 34 candidates announced by the party, 5 abruptly withdrew, leaving 29 contenders in the race.

However, on the last day of filing nominations, 10 potential candidates failed to file their nominations.

The 19 candidates left in the race are:
1.Jampa Thirnly Kunkhap (Lumla constituency)
2.Kumar Waii (Bameng constituency)
3.Kompu Dolo ( Chayangtajo constituency)
4.Tame Gyadi (Seppa East constituency)
5.Gollo Yapung Tana (Pakke Kessang constituency)
6.Nabam Tado (Doimukh constituency)
7.Tarh Johny (Palin constituency)
8.Tanga Byaling (Nacho constituency)

  1. Reri Kurbe Dulom (Daporijo constituency)
    10.Taling Yaying (Rumgong constituency)
    11.Takku Jerang (Pangin Boleng constituency)
    12.Er. Tobing Lego (Dambuk constituency)
    13.Jeremai Krong (Tezu constituency)
  2. Tana Tamar Tara (Lekang constituency)
    15.Chatu Longri (Miao constituency)
    16.Khimshom Mossang (Nampong constituency)
    17.Marina Kenglang (Changlang North constituency)
    18.Tangse Tekwa (Khons West constituency)
    19.Sompha Wangsa (Kanubari constituency)

The 5 candidates who withdrew from the race :

  1. Thangkai Khusum Chai (Ponchau Wakka constituency)2. Bayamso Kri (Chowkam constituency)
  2. Bafutso Krong (Hayuliang constituency)
  3. Okom Yosung (Pasighat constituency)
  4. Shotike Hopak (Namsai constituency)

But the Congress has blamed the BJP for this.

Speaking on the development APCC General Secretary and spokesperson, Kon Jirjo raised concerns over alleged manipulation by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Jirjo pointed fingers at the BJP, suggesting that they enticed Congress candidates to either refrain from filing nominations or withdraw from the race altogether.

Furthermore, Jirjo emphasized the APCC’s high expectations for the parliamentary seats in both East and West Arunachal Pradesh.
Polling for the 50 assembly seats and 2 Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh will be held on April 19 and results will for the Assembly polls will be declared on June 2 and for the LS polls on June 4.

The ruling BJP has won 10 seats unopposed.

Also Read: Arunachal: Women’s organisation pitches for alcohol-free election



One killed in pre-poll violence in West Kameng district

The BJP has demanded cancellation of the candidature of the independent candidate whose supporters are said to be involved in the clash that led to the death of a BJP supporter

13th April 2024
Arunachal BJP leader Ninong Ering injured in road accident in Sille village of East Siang district

Ering sustained minor injuries on his head and hand and has been promptly taken to the hospital for medical attention.

13th April 2024
Battle for Arunachal West LS seat: Will speak against social, economic and political injustice, affirms Nabam Tuki

Former Arunachal CM Naban Tuki is the Congress candidate for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency

12th April 2024
Ladakh MP Jamyang T Namgyal in Arunachal, lauds PM Modi’s vision to develop Gelling as First Village

Ladakh BJP MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who is in the frontier state to drum up support for BJP candidates ahead of the Assembly and parliamentary elections in the state, also had the oppurtunity to travel to Gelling.

12th April 2024