Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Another Tripura BJP MLA quits party, to join Cong. Here is the full list of Tripura MLA resignations so far

First Published: 28th December, 2022 13:58 IST

Tripura BJP MLA, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl representing the Kalamcherra constituency, submitted his resignation today

Another Tripura BJP MLA, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl representing the Kalamcherra constituency, submitted his resignation today.
Hrangkhawl submitted his resignation to Secretary of Tripura Legislative Assembly BP Karmakar as Speaker Ratan Chakraborty is out of station. Hrangkhawl is likely to join the Congress.
Congress leader and former BJP MLA Asish Kumar Saha and other leaders accompanied Hwrhankhawl during submission of the resignation letter.
As many as 4 BJP MLAs have quit the party ahead of the Tripura Assembly elections early next year. The MLAs who quit BJP so far are – Sudip Roy Barman (Agartala constituency), Asish Kumar Saha (Bordwali constituency), Burba Mohan Tripura (Karbook constituency) and Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl (Kalamcherra constituency).
Two IPFT MLAs – Dhananjoy Tripura (Raima Valley constituency) and Mevar Kumar Jamatia (Ramchandraghat constituency) too have resigned ahead of the polls.
Briswaketu Debbarma of IPFT representing Shimna constituency and Asish Das of BJP from 𝚂urma constituency had resigned from the respective parties in 2018.
Sudip Roy Burman and Asish Kumar Saha joined the Congress after resigning from BJP in February this year. Burba Mohan Tripura of BJP, Briswaketu Debbarma, Mevar Kumar Jamatia and Dhananjoy Tripura of IPFT joined Tipra Motha.
Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) is an ally of BJP in Tripura.
Elections for the 60-member Tripura Assembly will be held early next year. The term of the present Assembly would end on March 22, 2023.



Zomato’s Response To Virat Kohli’s Tweet On Losing His Phone Goes Viral

Virat Kohli revealed that he has lost his new phone. Zomato's hilarious response has gone viral

07th February 2023
Shubman Gill, Mohammed Siraj among players nominated for ICC Player of the Month Award for January 2023

Following a fruitful 2022 in which he excelled in ODIs and Tests, 2023 promises to be the year of Shubman Gill, given his supreme consistency in white-ball formats already

07th February 2023
It’s official! Sidharth Malhotra, Kiara Advani are now married

The wedding ceremony took place at Suryagarh Palace in the presence of close friends and family members

07th February 2023
Congress, CPI(M) always engaged in corruption: UP CM Yogi Adityanath during poll campaign for BJP

CM Adityanath also alleged CPI(M) and Congress of endangering the safety of women in the state during their rule

07th February 2023
Special court convicts Mizoram CM Zoramthanga’s younger brother

The Special Court will pronounce the sentences on Wednesday in an open court

07th February 2023