Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

40 candidates in 8 Sikkim Assembly seats in Gangtok district clear scrutiny. Details here

First Published: 28th March, 2024 20:44 IST

Scrutiny of 01- Sikkim Parliamentary Constituency and 32- Sangha Assembly Constituency will be done tomorrow

Scrutiny of nomination papers for candidates contesting from Arithang, Gangtok, Upper Tadong, Tumen Lingi, Shyari, Upper Burtuk, Martam – Rumtek and Khamdong Singtam Assembly seats were completed today.

The scrutiny for the Assembly Constituencies in Gangtok district took place at the office of the Returning Officers, overseen by Jitendra Kumar, the General Observer for Gangtok district.

The scrutiny of nominations for Constituencies in Gangtok district commenced at 11.00 am and continued thereafter.

The Officers who are appointed to scrutinize the nomination papers were Rohan Agawane Returning Officer for 26- Arithang Assembly Constituency and 27- Gangtok Assembly Constituency, Milan Rai Returning Officer for 25- Upper Tadong Assembly Constituency and 16- Tumen Lingi Constituency, GL Meena Returning Officer for 23- Shyari Assembly Constituency and 28- Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency, Roshan Subba Returning Officer for 24 – Martam – Rumtek Constituency and Suresh Rai Returning Officer for 17- Khamdong Singtam Constituency.

The Returning Officers accepted all nomination papers as valid after verifying them.

Names of the candidates whose nominations were accepted are as follows:

16- Tumen Lingi Assembly Constituency:

  1. Samdup Tshering Bhutia (SKM)
  2. Norzong Lepcha (SDF)
  3. Pema Gyalpu Bhutia (CAP)
  4. Samdup Lepcha (INC)
  5. Passang Gyali Sherpa (BJP)

17- Khamdong-Singtam Assembly Constituency:

  1. Mani Kumar Sharma (SDF)
  2. Nar Bahadur Dahal (SKM)
  3. Sumati Chettri (CAP)
  4. Tanka Nath Adhikari (INC)
  5. Chetan Sapkota (BJP)

23- Shyari Assembly Constituency:

  1. Kunga Nima Lepcha (SKM)
    2 Tenzing Norbu Lamtha (SDF)
  2. Pempo Dorjee Lepcha (BJP)
    4 Karma Tashi Bhutia (INC)
    5 Sonam Tshering Lepcha (CAP)

24- Martam-Rumtek Assembly Constituency:

1 Mechung Bhutia (SDF)

  1. Sonam Tsh. Venchungpa (SKM)
  2. Karma Tshering Bhutia (CAP)
  3. Chewang Dadul Bhutia (BJP)
  4. Ganga Lepcha (INC)

25- Upper Tadong Assembly Constituency:

  1. G.T. Dhungel (SKM)
  2. Dr Chandra Bahadur Chettri (SDF)3. Kailash Chandra Pradhan, Independent candidate
  3. Ravi Gurung (CAP)
  4. Niren Bhandari (BJP)

26- Arithang Assembly Constituency:

  1. Ashis Rai (SDF)
  2. Arun Kumar Upreti (SKM)
  3. Rikesh Pradhan (CAP)
  4. Udai Gurung (BJP)
  5. Sumitra Rai (INC)

27- Gangtok Assembly Constituency:

  1. Delay Namgyal Barfungpa (SKM) 2. Pintso Chopel Lepcha (SDF)
  2. Pema Wangyal Rinzing (BJP)
  3. Snumit Targain (INC)
  4. Dawcho Lepcha (CAP)

28- Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency:

  1. Kala Rai (SKM)
  2. Dil Bahadur Thapa (SDF)
  3. Dilli Ram Thapa (BJP)
  4. Aita Tamang (INC)
  5. Bhim Kumar Tamang (CAP)

It was informed that the date of withdrawal of candidature is before 3:00 pm on March 30, 2024 (Saturday) followed by symbol allotment for Independent Candidature.

There will be separate scrutiny of 01- Sikkim Parliamentary Constituency and 32- Sangha Assembly Constituency tomorrow on March 29, 2024 from 11:00 am onwards.



Sikkim assembly poll 2024: BJP’s door open for post-poll alliances, says state party president DR Thapa

Expressing concern over reports of individuals openly distributing cash and using threats to influence voters, DR Thapa emphasized the importance of ensuring free and fair elections

14th April 2024
Pre-poll violence in Sikkim: SKM candidate Loknath Sharma’s residence attacked

Loknath Sharma has alleged that the vandalism was allegedly carried out by supporters of independent candidate Khusendra Sharma

14th April 2024
Jacob Khaling slams former CM Pawan Chamling for allegations says, he should go to court with evidence

Chamling said that instead of making baseless accusations in front of the media, Chamling should approach the court if he has any reliable evidence.

13th April 2024
Captain of Sikkim Senior Men’s Cricket team, Nilesh Lamichaney to play for UK’s Barnoldswick Cricket Club

Nilesh has been Sikkim's outstanding batsman in under-age competitions, he was appointed to captain Sikkim in their inaugural competition at List A level.

13th April 2024
Sikkim assembly polls 2024: SDF promises birthday holidays to Govt employees

Pawan Chamling has promised to scrap all the upcoming or planned hydroelectric projects in Dzongu if elected

11th April 2024