Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Meghalaya Polls: Who will win Phulbari?

First Published: 12th February, 2023 15:32 IST

AT Mondal of NPP is confident of a win. He is in the fray against Esmatur Mominin, sitting NPP MLA who quit NPP and joined TMC

NPP candidate from Phulbari AT Mondal is confident of having the last laugh in the ensuing elections. AT Mondal a former Congress leader and Speaker of the Meghalaya Legislative assembly, who later jumped ship to join the NPP in December last year is certain of putting up a good show.

He said, “Actually in the present political situation NPP is the only pan Meghalaya party having winnability chances.”

Talking about his decision to join the NPP, Mondal said, “It is not an individual decision, it is a decision of my well wishers, supporters and voters. It is everybody’s decision.”

Mondal also took credit of ushering development in the Phulbari constituency. He said, “In my period of time, the connectivity in villages, the new roads all were done during My time. All the villages are connected by me only. Moreover, I want to tell one thing. There was devastating flash floods in 2014. Most of the roads were washed away. There was no roads. We had completely reconstructed the roads.”

Besides, AT Mondal also highlighted that he had worked for the upliftment of the education sector in Phulbari. He said that Phulbari had evolved into an educational hub during his regime.

He said, “Because my emphasis was on education and it has to be quality education and that is how Phulbari became a small educational hub in the plain area. Students from Mahendraganj and far flung areas they come and study in Phulbari because we have changed the system and infrastructure. There are quality teachers and we will continue with that. Not only one school, but all school buildings have been reconstructed. We have smart classrooms in some schools, these were all done during my time.”

Not only this, AT Mondal also said that he has worked hard for making the administration more people friedly. In this regard he said, “As far as administration is concerned, people had to run from pillar to post for something as small as a certificate, that is why we got a block which is hardly 3kms from my residence.”

Meanwhile, AT Mondal is also quite confident of his victory in the upcoming elections. He said,”Winnability chances of course all depends on the Almighty but having faith in the Almighty it is cent percent chances.”

AT Mondal is in the fray against Esmatur Mominin, who is the sitting MLA and had quit the NPP and joined the TMC.



Key Candidate: Lahkmen Rymbui (UDP) – Amlarem

In 2018, he won the Amlarem constituency as a UDP candidate with 14,766 votes, representing 50.10 percent of the total votes

25th February 2023
Key Candidate: Snaiawbhalang Dhar (NPP) – Nartiang

In 2013, he won from the Nartiang constituency on a Congress ticket

25th February 2023
Key Candidates: James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma (NPP) – Dadenggre

James Sangma, a prominent face in the National People’s Party, is the brother of Conrad Sangma, the Chief Minister of Meghalaya. Currently serving as a Cabinet Minister in Meghalaya, James Sangma is also the sitting MLA from the Dadenggre constituency. He has a stronghold on the seat, having emerged victorious in both the 2013 and 2018 elections. In 2018, he won by a margin of […]

25th February 2023
Key Candidates: Sanbor Shullai (BJP) – South Shillong

Sanbor Shullai is a member of the BJP and a Cabinet Minister in Meghalaya. He has been elected three times as the MLA from the South Shillong constituency, winning the 2018 election with a margin of 5,097 votes and 49.71 per cent of the vote. He previously won the same seat as a member of […]

25th February 2023
Key Candidate: Ernest Mawrie (BJP) – West Shillong

His opponents in the race for the West Shillong seat include the sitting MLA Mohendro Rapsang of the NPP, Bethleen Dkhar of the INC, Paul Lyngdoh of the UDP

25th February 2023