Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Sikkim Elections: SDF list for 26 Assembly seats out, PD Rai to contest in lone LS seat

First Published: 25th March, 2024 19:29 IST

Former 5-time Chief Minister and SDF chief Pawan Kumar Chamling will be contesting the election from Poklok-Kamrang.

The Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) today announced the names of 26 candidates for the ensuing Sikkim Legislative Assembly elections.

Former 5-time Chief Minister and SDF chief Pawan Kumar Chamling will be contesting the election from Poklok-Kamrang.

Former Health Minister MK Sharma, the sitting MLA from Singtam Khamdong constituency who had joined the SDF on March 21 has been given a SDF ticket from the same seat.

SDF chief Spokesperson M K Subba will be contesting from the Rangang Yangang constituency. On the other hand, footballer-turned-politician Bhaichung Bhutia will be in the fray from the Barfung constituency.

The SDF has announced that PD Rai will be its candidate for the Lok Sabha election.

See the full list here:

Earlier, this morning the SKM released its list of candidates for all the 32 Assembly seats as well as for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the Himalayan state.

CM Prem Singh Tamang and also the SKM chief, will be contesting from two seats – Soreng and Rhenock.
Dr. Indra Hang Subba has been nominated as the SKM’s candidate for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the state.

The list includes 3 sitting MLAs from the BJP who had resigned from the party yesterday and joined SKM.
Yangang Rangang MLA Rajkumari Thapa, Dzongu MLA Pinsto Namgyal Lepcha and Martam Rumtek MLA Sonam Venchungpa have all resigned from the BJP yesterday have been tickets by the SKM.

On Sunday the BJP announced the list of 14 candidates who will be contesting for the 32 seats in the Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

The BJP also announced that Dinesh Chandra Nepal will be the party candidate for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Sikkim.

Sikkim’s regional political party, Citizen Action Party-Sikkim on Friday (March 22) had announced it’s first list of 14 candidates for the upcoming Sikkim Assembly elections 2024.

Of the 14 names announced, 13 are first-timers. Dawcho Lepcha who has been fielded from Gangtok seat, being the only politician who has contested elections earlier.

The CAP on Sunday named party president Bharat Basnett as its candidate for the lone Sikkim Lok Sabha seat and announced three other names in its second list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections.



Sikkim assembly poll 2024: BJP’s door open for post-poll alliances, says state party president DR Thapa

Expressing concern over reports of individuals openly distributing cash and using threats to influence voters, DR Thapa emphasized the importance of ensuring free and fair elections

14th April 2024
Pre-poll violence in Sikkim: SKM candidate Loknath Sharma’s residence attacked

Loknath Sharma has alleged that the vandalism was allegedly carried out by supporters of independent candidate Khusendra Sharma

14th April 2024
Jacob Khaling slams former CM Pawan Chamling for allegations says, he should go to court with evidence

Chamling said that instead of making baseless accusations in front of the media, Chamling should approach the court if he has any reliable evidence.

13th April 2024
Captain of Sikkim Senior Men’s Cricket team, Nilesh Lamichaney to play for UK’s Barnoldswick Cricket Club

Nilesh has been Sikkim's outstanding batsman in under-age competitions, he was appointed to captain Sikkim in their inaugural competition at List A level.

13th April 2024
Sikkim assembly polls 2024: SDF promises birthday holidays to Govt employees

Pawan Chamling has promised to scrap all the upcoming or planned hydroelectric projects in Dzongu if elected

11th April 2024