Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

LS polls 2024-Nagaland: NDPP, Cong candidates file nomination for lone LS seat

First Published: 26th March, 2024 18:02 IST

Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha is also in fray for the Nagaland Lok Sabha seat.

NDPP candidate Dr.Chumben Murry, Nagaland Congress candidate, S Supongmeren Jamir and Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha filed their nomination papers today for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland.

Murry, the ruling NDPP led-People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate backed by BJP and NPP, completed the formalities at the Commissioner Nagaland and Returning Officer’s Office in Kohima.
Murry sounded confident about his victory in the parliamentary election and said, “With the support of 60 MLAs why should I not be confident, there is absolute majority.”

Spelling out his priorities if elected as an MP, Murry said, “There are so many issues that I have to carry. It will be the voice of the Legislators as well as the people. Particularly we will dwell on Naga political issues and the other issues that we are facing currently.”

Asked if his opponents will be a factor for him, Chumben Murry said, “As I have said we are confident of winning, so more than that what can I say. Let us all say that it will be a friendly contest between the three of us.”

Dr. Chumben Murry is the current Wokha MLA and Advisor to the Nagaland Chief Minister.

Congress candidate, S.Supongmeren Jamir also filed his nomination today.

Jamir after filing his nomination said, “Winning lies with the voters, so hopefully the citizens of Nagaland as a whole will vote in favour of the Congress. It will be a friendly contest, we are friends (candidates) with each other. So it is upto the people whom to choice but as per the situation of the present scenario, I have a great hope that people will come forward and vote for the Congress.”

Jamir is president of Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee and former MLA from the Mongoya constituency. He was elected in the 2003 Assembly Election.



Naga Issue: PAC to hold consultations with civil society and Naga nationalist groups after Lok Sabha polls

This was informed by Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio while he was addressing a rally in support of NDA Lok Sabha candidate Chumben Murry

13th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls- Nagaland: Cong had a policy of “Get The Votes, and Forget Them,” says JP Nadda

BJP national president JP Nadda today addressed an NDA election rally in Chumoukedima to drum up support for Lok Sabha candidate Chumben Murry.

13th April 2024
Nagaland: NDPP leader, former BJP member join Congress ahead of LS polls

Polling for the lone parliamentary constituency of Nagaland is scheduled to take place on April 19. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 4.

12th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls-Nagaland: CM Rio does not see a strong rival against Chumben Murry

In terms of Congress candidate S. Supongmeren Jamir, CM Rio said that the Nagaland Congress is contesting the elections only to save the face of the grand old party.

08th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls: God Factor in Nagaland, NBCC calls for 152-hour nonstop prayers ahead of polls

Will the God Factor be the key aspect for the upcoming Lok Sabha Election in the state of Nagaland? Though there is only one Lok Sabha seat in the state, the Nagaland Baptist Church Council (NBCC) has decided to go with the spirit of belief and faith on the Almighty, this election. The main motto […]

04th April 2024