Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Mizoram voters list released, state has 8.42 lakh voters

First Published: 13th January, 2023 20:23 IST

Women voters outnumber their male counterparts by 24,448 voters. Another voters list likely before assembly polls later this year

There are 8,42,388 voters in Mizoram according to the final publication of electoral rolls by the state election department on Friday. Women voters outnumbered their male counterparts by 24,448 votes with the total female voters in the state at 2,33,418 as against 4,08,970 male voters, state election department said.

There are 5,071 service voters including 87 women service voters, Pachuau said.

Mizoram has 40 assembly constituencies and one Lok Sabha constituency for which there are 1,267 polling stations across the state.

Aizawl district has the largest number of voters at 2,80,874 including 1,49,191 voters, followed by southern Lunglei district which has 98,552 voters.

Newly formed Hnahthial district which comprised of only one assembly seat has 15,985 voters, followed by another newly formed district of Khawzawl having 17,398 voters.

Officials said that the increase in the number of voters as compared to the draft electoral roll, published in the later part of last year was minimal. They said that another voters’ list would be published for the coming election to the state assembly, most likely to be held by the end of the year. The electoral rolls would be updated for use in the coming state assembly polls, the officials added.



Mizoram: Drugs worth Rs 35 cr seized in Champhai, 3 held

The team apprehended three persons, who they identified as Abu Tahir Mazumdar, Zothanluaii and HT Vanlalzari

23rd February 2024
Scrapping of FMR, fencing Indo-Myanmar border would impact economic relationship between Myanmar and Mizoram: NGOCC

Earlier yesterday Chief Minister Lalduhoma had reiterated his opposition to the Centre's decision

21st February 2024
Mizoram CM Lalduhoma reiterates his opposition to scraping of FMR

Five organisations that includes two student groups, one women's group, a senior citizens body and the Central Young Mizo association will take part in tomorrow's protest demonstration.

20th February 2024
Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram celebrates Statehood Day

President Droupadi Murmu, PM Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah besides other leaders have conveyed greetings to the people

20th February 2024
Centre sanctions Rs 2,124 cr for infra development in Assam and Mizoram

Centre has sanctioned Rs 382.10 crore for the construction of a 2-lane highway connecting Majuli and Jorhat in Assam and Rs 1742.11 crore for the construction of 4-lane section on NH-6 in Mizoram

14th February 2024