Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Cong ‘lost touch with people of Meghalaya’: Ex Minister Ampareen quits party, to join NPP today

First Published: 19th December, 2022 13:08 IST

West Shillong MLA Mohendro Rapsang too has resigned and is joining NPP this afternoon.

Congress leader and former Meghalaya minister Ampareen Lyngdoh and West Shillong MLA Mohendro Rapsang have quit the Congress party. Rapsang and Lyngdoh were suspended from the party. Both the leaders are joining the National People’s Party (NPP) led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma this afternoon.

The resignations come ahead of the Meghalaya Assembly polls early next year.

Speaking to Northeast Live just a while back, Lyngdoh said, “Finally I am out and I am joining NPP. I and Mohendro Rapsang are at the Assembly now to resign from our MLA positions. Soon after this we both will leave for the Fire Brigade Ground and join the NPP there”.

This development is being seen by any as the final nail in Congress’s coffin in Meghalaya.

In her resignation letter, Lyngdoh thanked the party for giving her all the opportunity and even appointing her as the Secretary of the All India Congress Committee. But she also said, “the party has lost touch with the people of Meghalaya…the party has led me to believe that it has lost its sense of direction.”

She went on to say, “There has been a pressing need for the party and its leadership to reflect on this. Sincere and honest attempts to lead such self-introspection, I believe, has failed”.

57-year-old Lyngdoh has been MLA from the East Shillong constituency since 2013.

Last month, three incumbent MLAs in Meghalaya – two from the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) and one from the opposition All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) – had resigned to join the BJP. The NPP’s Benedict Marak (Raksamgre) and Fairlene Sangma (Selsella), and Trinamool Congress legislator Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang (Mawsynram) had quit their parties.

Earlier in February this year, five Congress MLAs – Cong Legislature Party leader Ampareen Lyngdoh, and MLAs PT Sawkmie, Mayralborn Syiem, KS Marbaniang and Mohendro Rapsang had joined the MDA – Meghalaya Democratic Alliance backed by BJP.

Prior to that in 2021, 12 Congress MLAs including former Meghalaya CM and senior party leader Mukul Sangma had left the party to join Trinamool Congress (TMC).

The Congress had won 21 seats and NPP 19 in the 2018 Assembly polls. BJP had won 2 but BJP out-smarted Congress to form the government in Meghalaya joining hands with NPP.



Meghalaya: Mallangkona Police Outpost, built with people’s contribution inaugurated by CM Conrad Sangma

Speaking on the occasion, CM Conrad Sangma said that in other critical locations across the state similar police setups would be put in place to ensure protection of the citizens.

21st June 2024
Meghalaya: Rajya Sabha MP WR Kharlukhi files FIR against YouTuber for accusing him of corruption, says “will resign…if proven guilty”

Kharlukhi threatened to file defamation case against anyone who wrongfully tried to accuse him of corruption charges.

20th June 2024
Meghalaya: Rajya Sabha MP Dr WR Kharlukhi to retire from politics in 2026

Kharlukhi was elected as MP to the Rajya Sabha as NPP candidate in 2020 defeating Congress Candidate Mr Kennedy C Khriem

20th June 2024
Meghalaya Dy CM chairs meeting with 3 district councils on uniformity of ST certificates

The meeting was also attended by Social Welfare Minister Paul Lyngdoh.

20th June 2024
Meghalaya Govt approves enforcement of Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita (BNSS) from July 1

MDA Goverment spokesperson and Social Welfare Minister Paul Lyngdoh said that the cabinet also approved the guidelines for compulsory crime scene investigation by forensic teams

20th June 2024