Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Truckers in Senapati go on strike

First Published: 21st February, 2024 22:20 IST

More than 100 loaded trucks carrying essential commodities are stranded between Mao and Senapati

Another crisis is brewing in the state which may affect the supply of essentials to the Imphal valley.

The Senapati District Truck Owners Association and Senapati District Truck Drivers Union have doubled-down on their stand of not ferrying essential commodities to Imphal.

More than 100 loaded trucks carrying essential commodities are stranded between Mao and Senapati after the truckers decided to stop the transport following assualt of some drivers last week by unknown armed miscreants at Sekmai.

The victims were ambushed along the NH-2 at Sekmai, within Imphal West district.

The association has demanded the immediate arrest of the culprits involved in the incident . They further stated that they would refuse to ply on the Kangpokpi to Imphal stretch of road till the rampant illegal tax collections on the route are completely stopped.

Seeing incidents of mental and physical assault of truckers on social media has reaffirmed other truckers’ resolve in not plying along that route till safe passage is guaranteed.



Manipur LS Polls: Nagaland CM Rio and DY CM Zeliang sprearhead campaign for NPF’s Outer Manipur candidate Timothy Zimik

BJP did not field a candidate for Outer Manipur and extended support to Zimik.

20th April 2024
Manipur LS Polls: 3 arrested in firing incident at Manipur polling station

The arrested miscreants have been identified as Leichombam Jemson Singh (34 yrs), Nongthombam Ratan (47 yrs) and Khumukcham Angamba (32 yrs).

20th April 2024
Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

19th April 2024
Voting for Inner and Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seats tomorrow. 10 candidates in fray

The Inner Manipur seat will see BJP's Thounaojam Basanta Kr Singh contesting against Congress' Agomcha Bimol Akoijam and Maheshwar Thounaojam of RPI (A) and R K Somendro of MPP

18th April 2024
Polling personnel reach their destinations safely in Kangpokpi

The first phase of the dispersal of polling personnel commenced at Brig. M. Thomas Ground Kangpokpi town at 7:00 a.m

17th April 2024