Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur: Cong announces names of candidates for 2 Lok Sabha seats

First Published: 22nd March, 2024 21:27 IST

The Congress have chosen Professor Angomcha Bimol Akoijam and Former MLA Alfred K Arthur to contest from the 2 parliamentary seats in Manipur

The Congress has declared the names of JNU Professor Angomcha Bimol Akoijam and Alfred K Arthur as it’s candidates for the Inner and Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seats.

Prof. A Bimol Akoijam is contesting the election for the first time and has earned distinction in the field of academics, who has also acquired expertise by closely observing the political dynamics.

On the other hand, Alfred K Arthur was elected as an MLA from the Ukhrul Assembly Constituency as a Congress candidate for the term 2017-2022. Earlier he had contested the elections for the first time in 2012 but was defeated.

Worth mentioning that the Naga People’s Front, has fielded Timothy Zimik from the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha Constituency.

On March 17, the Communist Party of India (CPI) in Manipur had named its senior member and state unit general secretary of the All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), Laishram Sotinkumar Singh as its candidate from the Inner Manipur constituency for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.

Notably, CPI became the first party in strife-torn Manipur to announce candidate for the upcoming elections.



Less than a week to LS polls, 2 dead in fresh violence in Manipur

Cross firing took place at Moirangpurel of Imphal East and Phailengmol area of Kangpokpi making the situation tense.

13th April 2024
Special polling stations arranged for 5,000 voters displaced by Manipur violence

All arrangements to enable displaced people to vote have been made in accordance with the guidance received from the central government, polling officials told ANI.

13th April 2024
3 injured in fresh violence in Manipur

Combined teams of security forces including Manipur Police Commandos have rushed to the area in order to take stock of the incident.

12th April 2024
Lok Sabha polls-Manipur: Manipur Democratic Alliance announces unconditional support to NDA candidates

BJP's Thanoujam Basanta Kumar Singh and NPF's Kachui Timothy Zimik are the 2 NDA candidates who are in the fray from the Manipur (Inner) and Manipur (Outer) constituencies.

08th April 2024
Now enjoy Manipur’s unique aromatic black rice Chakhao in Kerala, to be exported to Europe soon

The state is preparing to export another 15 MT of fine grain Chakhao to Europe soon

07th April 2024