Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

LS Polls 2024-Assam: Its Gogoi Vs Gogoi in Jorhat parliamentary seat

First Published: 23rd March, 2024 20:03 IST

2-time Kaliabor MP Gaurav Gogoi of Congress would faceoff with sitting Jorhat MP and one-time Sonari MLA, BJP’s Topon Gogoi in the Jorhat LS seat

It is going to be a direct fight between 2-time Kaliabor MP Gaurav Gogoi, son of 3-time former Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, and incumbent Jorhat MP and one time Sonari MLA Topon Kumar Gogoi of BJP in the Jorhat Lok Sabha seat. This is going to be one of the big fights to look out for in the Lok Sabha elections in Assam this time.

Topon Gogoi won the seat in 2019 LS polls. He is contesting for a second term. Gaurav Gogoi who is the MP from Kaliabor, would be contesting from Jorhat for the first time because his constituency, Kaliabor is now part of the Kaziranga Lok Sabha constituency post the delimitation exercise.

Worth mentioning that Tarun Gogoi (Gaurav’s father) had won the seat twice in 1971 and 1977 as a Congress candidate.

Political career of Topon Kumar Gogoi:

Topon Gogoi won the Sonari seat in the Assam Assembly elections of 2016 and was inducted into the Sarbananda Sonowal cabinet as the Power Minister. A former All Assam Students’ Union (AASU), Gogoi won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections securing 51.35% of the votes defeating Congress’s (INC) Sushanta Borgohain.
In the 2016 Assam assembly elections too he defeated Congress candidate Sarat Barkataky by a margin of 24,117 votes.

Political career of Gaurav Gogoi:

Gaurav Gogoi won the Kaliabor seat twice in 2014 and 2019 as a Congress candidate. In 2014 he won the seat with 4,43,032 votes defeating BJP’s Mrinal Kumar Saikia and in 2019, Gaurav Gogoi won the seat with a better number of 7,85,014 votes defeating AGP’s Moni Madhab Mahanta.

About Jorhat Lok Sabha seat:

Jorhat Lok Sabha seat is one of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam. Lok Sabha elections for the seat has been held 11 times since 1971 to 2019 and the Indian National Congress (INC) has won the seat eight times, an independent candidate won it once and the BJP won the seat twice.

In 2019, Topon Gogoi (BJP) won the seat with 5,43,288 votes
In 2014, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa (BJP) won the seat with 4,56,420 votes
In 2009, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 3,62,320 votes
In 2004, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 2,23,624 votes
In 1999, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 3,04,690 votes
In 1998, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 2,16,406 votes
In 1996, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 3,11,578 votes
In 1991, Bijoy Krishna Handique (INC) won the seat with 2,39,369 votes
In 1985, Parag Chaliha won the seat with 2,88,540 votes
In 1977, Tarun Gogoi won the seat with 1,48,902 votes
In 1971, Tarun Gogoi won the seat with 1,02,820 votes

Assembly seats that Jorhat comprises of:

Jorhat has 10 Assembly seats – Sonari, Mahmara, Demow, Sibsagar, Nazira, Majuli, Teok, Jorhat, Mariani and Titabar. Except for Titabar and Nazira, the rest of the Assembly seats are held by BJP and AGP (an ally of BJP) and Sibsagar is with Akhil Gogoi and Independent.



N.F. Railway collects fine worth a whopping Rs 66.27 cr from ticketless travellers

The N.F. Railway has appealed people not to board trains without tickets and warned stern action against violators

20th May 2024
Assam: Amid rising concerns of global warming, 100 trees illegally chopped in Bajali district

This incident has been reported from Bishankushi area near the Kaldiya river in Bajali.

20th May 2024
Man trampled to death by elephant in his sleep in Assam’s Numaligarh

The deceased has been identified as Chuttu Orang. He is survived by his wife.

20th May 2024
3 including 2 brothers die after falling into a well trying to catch a hen 

The deceased persons have been identified as--Prosenjit Deb, Manjeet Deb (Brothers) and Amit Sen.

20th May 2024
Storm hits Assam: Ferries damaged, service between Guwahati and North Guwahati suspended 

According to sources, ferries have suffered significant damage due to the rain and thunderstorms that have been raging in various parts of Guwahati since last evening. 

20th May 2024