Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lok Sabha Polls: Topon Gogoi files nomination for Jorhat LS seat, accompanied by Assam CM

First Published: 27th March, 2024 21:07 IST

Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and Ranjit Dutta also filed their nominations for the coming Lok Sabha elections.

In a massive show of strength by the BJP in Jorhat, thousands of supporters accompanied party candidate Topon Gogoi for nomination filing.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and top state BJP leaders also accompanied Gogoi, who is up against Congress leader Gaurav Gogoi in Jorhat.

A sea of saffron descended on the roads of Jorhat as BJP supporters took out a massive rally accompanying Topon Gogoi.

Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who took part in the massive nomination rally, stated that he has never seen such a huge crowd turn up for nomination filing of a candidate during his political career.

“I have been involved in the elections since 2001 but have never witnessed such a huge crowd while filing a nomination. This proves that we have won from Jorhat and Topon Kumar Gogoi will win from Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency by over three lakh votes”, CM Sarma said.

CM Sarma could be seen greeting supporters from atop a vehicle, with Topon Gogoi by his side as chants of Modi, Modi echoed all across.

Taking to Twitter, CM Sarma expressed his pleasure in accompanying Gogoi during the nomination process.

“Pleased to accompany @BJP4India candidate Shri @ToponKumarGogo1 as he filed his nomination for the Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency. People of Jorhat have spoken in one voice – they are part of #ModiKaParivar, that’s the only family that matters to them”, Assam CM tweeted.

On Wednesday, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and Ranjit Dutta also filed their nominations for the Lok Sabha elections.

Tasa filed nomination for Kazirangna and Dutta for the Sonitpur Lok Sabha seat.

Wednesday was the last date for filing of nominations for the first phase of Lok Sabha polls to be held on April 19.

Altogether 24 candidates have so far filed their nominations in Assam which will witness three-phase polls for 14 constituencies on April 19, 26 and May 7.

The constituencies going to the polls in the first phase are Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur and Kaziranga.

The scrutiny of nomination will be held on March 28 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 30.

Also Watch



Assam HSLC 2024 Results: Sevak Kharka from Baksa district scores highest marks in Nepali MIL

Candidates can view their results on, and other websites.

20th April 2024
Poll officer spot dead in road accident in Assam’s Lakhimpur

The deceased has been identified as Rajiv Lekharu, who was a professor at Bihpuria College in Lakhimpur district.

20th April 2024
Assam HSLC Exams 2024 Results Out: Pass percentage at 75.7%. Check toppers’ list here

A total of 4, 19, 78 students appeared in HSLC 2024

20th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Naba Kumar Sarania files nomination for Kokrajhar seat despite HC order

Despite the Gauhati High Court's ruling on Thursday, which declared Naba Kumar Sarania's Scheduled Tribe- Plains certificate invalid, he filed his nominations on Friday.

19th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BPF candidate for Kokrajhar Kampa Borgoyary files his nomination

The Bodoland people’s front (BPF) organised a massive public rally from Kampa Borgoyary’s residence to Kokrajhar DC office before filling the nomination papers.

19th April 2024