Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Polling in certain polling stations of Arunachal concluded this morning

First Published: 20th April, 2024 20:52 IST

The voter turnout for the parliamentary seats was recorded at 72.74% and for the Assembly seats stood at 76.44% as per initial estimates

Polling in some of the polling stations of Arunachal Pradesh that started on April 19 at 7 AM concluded after 1.30 AM on April 20, sources said.

Voting at certain polling stations at Basar concluded at 1.30 AM and at Balijan HS School in Hollongi ended at 12 AM, polling agents present at the stations said.

Briefing the media, Arunachal’s Chief Electoral Officer, Pawan Kumar Sain had said that polling went on till late last night and early today morning in Tirap, Lower Dibang valley, Tezu, Upper Siang, Yachuli, Seijosa, Sagalee and Basar.

“Changes had to be made in VVPATS, Control Units (CU) and Ballot Units (BU) delaying the voting process,” CEO Sain said. Giving a detailed break-up, the CEO said that 16 BUs, 20 CUs and 36
VVPATS were changed as they were found to be defective. This was done during Assembly voting. In Parliamentary voting 12 BUs, 18 CUs and 38 VVPATs were changed. Information regarding defective VVPATS is awaited from 11 districts including Kra Daadi, Siang, Siyomi and Pake Kesang, the CEO said.

Addressing the media late yesterday, he said that the voter turnout for the parliamentary seats was recorded at 72.74% and for the Assembly seats stood at 76.44% as per initial estimates as 14 polling parties were still on way to Itanagar and their reports were awaited. Polling parties have returned from 2212 polling stations.

Arunachal East Parliamentary recorded a turnout of 76.37% and Arunachal West recorded a poll percentage of 70.11%. These numbers might change as the figures are still being collated.

He also shared details about some of the unfortunate casualties that took place during the voting yesterday.

One polling officer deployed at Bordumsa, Chowkdam Yamchang died due to heart attack. Sanjay Paul, presiding officer at Yingkiong had fallen ill and was shifted to Dibrugarh. His condition is stable now.

Dinesh Kumar Panda, a state armed police force personnel from Odisha who was on poll duty in Kurung Kumey, was admitted to TRIHMS and is on ventilator. Efforts are on to shift him out side the state for better medical facilities.

Kesang Goyba, the Returning Officer of Rumgong had suffered a mild stroke and is recovering now. Nampung Rekang a casual labour slipped and got injured. He too is undergoing treatment in Kayang.



Illegal appointments in PHE & WS department: ACS seek termination of corrupt officials

In fact the ACS has sent a representation to Arunachal Pradesh Chief Secretary placing before the top official, a 3-point charter of demands.

18th May 2024
Arunachal: Vehicle movement restricted on Pinjoli bridge in West Kamreng

According to the Border Roads Task Force (BRTF), a bailey panel of the bridge has been displaced.

18th May 2024
Itanagar: 117 dog bite cases reported in 8 days

The Itanagar Municipal Corporation (IMC) has issued a statement urging people not to kill dogs and condemn such actions in the strongest terms.

17th May 2024
Arunachal civil society demands strict punishment for accused involved in inter-state sex racket, says “No one should walk out free”  

Arunachal civil society said that anyone involved in this, whether they come from an influential family or not, must face severe consequences.

16th May 2024
Arunachal Polls 2024: CEO P.K. Sain highlights preparations for counting day

The counting of votes for Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections will commence on June 2 at 6 AM, while for the parliamentary elections, it will begin on June 4 at 8 AM, this was informed by Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain.

16th May 2024