Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

No information about 5 MLAs seeking to join BJP: Arunachal CM Pema Khandu

First Published: 13th February, 2024 17:18 IST

CM Khandu maintained that the next step will be decided once the central leadership conveys about the joining of the MLAs

Amid reports doing rounds that 5 sitting Arunachal MLAs will be switching sides to the BJP, Chief Minister Pema Khandu said that he is yet to receive any communication in this regard.

To a direct question from Northeast Live about the much speculated joining of the MLAs, CM Khandu said, “I have no information about this. Now everyone is joining BJP. Regarding sitting MLAs I have no information. If our Delhi leadership shares any information with us, than we will decide on what needs to be done next.”

Well, highly placed sources had informed Northeast Live that the 5 MLAs who are likely to join BJP includes 2 from the Congress, 2 from the NPP and 1 Independent. Many also see this as a big boost to the BJP, especially in context of the Assembly Elections to be held this year.

If sources are to be believed, Wangling Lowangdong and Ninong Ering of the Congress, Gokar Basar and Mutchu Mithi of the NPP and Chakat Aboh, an Independent MLA, are all set to join the BJP. However, when contacted the MLAs refused to comment on the development.

Notably there are 10-non BJP MLAs in the 60-member Arunachal Assembly of which 4 are from congress, 4 from NPP and 2 are independents.

The move is considered to be very much significant since Arunachal Pradesh will have simultaneous polls for both Lok Sabha and its state assembly within the next couple of months.

Notably, Chakat Aboh is the wife of Late slain MLA and minister Tirong Aboh, Chakat Aboh won the bye-elections in 2019 after the elections to the Khonsa (West) constituency was countermanded due to the brutal assassination of her husband Tirong Aboh along with 10 others by militants, just two days prior to the declaration of the poll results.

Also Read: Arunachal Polls: Mood is in favour of BJP, says CM Khandu



Polling in certain polling stations of Arunachal concluded this morning

The voter turnout for the parliamentary seats was recorded at 72.74% and for the Assembly seats stood at 76.44% as per initial estimates

20th April 2024
Voting underway in Arunachal: 133 candidates in fray for 50 Assembly seats and 14 candidates for 2 LS seats

8 Lakh 88 thousand 816 voters out of which 4,33,760 are male voters and 4,49,050 female voters will decide the fate of the total 147 candidates in fray.

19th April 2024
Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

19th April 2024
Arunachal Elections 2024: Over 8.8 lakh voters to exercise franchise for Assembly and Lok Sabha polls tomorrow

There will be 2,226 polling stations spread over the entire state.

18th April 2024
Arunachal Pradesh: CEO reports 100% arm license deposit and stringent security measures

Sain expressed gratitude to the people of Arunachal Pradesh for their support in conducting a free, fair, and peaceful election

17th April 2024