Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal Elections 2024: Over 8.8 lakh voters to exercise franchise for Assembly and Lok Sabha polls tomorrow

First Published: 18th April, 2024 11:59 IST

There will be 2,226 polling stations spread over the entire state.

More than 8.8 lakh voters will be exercising their franchise for the simultaneous Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly and Lok Sabha elections tomorrow.

While, 133 candidates are in fray for 50 Assembly seats, 14 candidates are in fray from the 2 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

The BJP has won 10 Assembly constituencies uncontested.

As per information shared by the Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), the total number of electors in Arunachal Pradesh (as on 5th January 2024), is 8,82,816 out of which 4,33,760 are male voters and 4,49,050 female voters.

There will be 2,226 polling stations spread over the entire State. Polling Station No. 2 – Pumao Primary School under Longding Assembly Constituency with 1462 voters has the highest number of electors in the State.

The Polling Station with the least number of electors is the Malogam Temporary Structure in Malogam village under Hayuliang Assembly Constituency with one female voter. Polling Station No. 18-Luguthang under Mukto constituency is the highest Polling Station located at an altitude of about 13,383 ft.

A total of 480 polling booths are in the shadow areas, where mobile or connectivity is an issue, while 588 booths have been identified as critical and 443 as vulnerable.

The BJP is contesting in all the 50 seats (BJP won 10 seats uncontested) while the opposition Congress is fighting in only 19 seats.

The NPP has fielded candidates in 20 seats, the NCP is fighting in 14 seats and the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) is contesting 11 seats, the Arunachal Democratic Party has fielded candidates in four seats, while the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) is fighting one seat.

Also, there are 14 Independent candidates in the fray.

Worth mentioning, the BJP has won 10 seats uncontested in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly.
While no Opposition parties fielded candidates in five constituencies, rivals of the BJP withdrew their nominations in five more seats by March 30, the last day of withdrawal of candidature.

Among those who won uncontested were Chief Minister Pema Khandu from Mukto and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein from Chowkham.

The other winners are Ratu Techi from Sagalee, Jikke Tako (Tali), Nyato Dukam (Taliha), Mutchu Mithi (Roing), Hage Appa (Ziro-Hapoli), Techi Kaso (Itanagar), Dongru Siongju (Bomdila), and Dasanglu Pul (Hayuliang).

At present, the strength of the parties in the Arunachal Legislative Assembly is as follows-

BJP – 56
CONG – 1
NPP – 2
IND – 1
TOTAL – 60

BJP has a strength of 56 MLAs, NPP-2, Congress-1. BJP MLA from Changlang South Phosum Khimhun had passed away this March leaving the seat vacant.

For the Lok Sabha elections, there are a total of 14 candidates in the fray. Eight candidates are in the fray for the Arunachal West constituency and six candidates for the Arunachal East seat.

The key candidates in the Arunachal East seat are 2-time BJP MP from Arunachal East and Arunachal BJP President, Tapir Gao and Congress’ Bosiram Siram. Bosiram Siram is 2-time Pasighat East MLA.
Bandey Mili of Arunachal Democratic Party is also in the fray.

The contest for the Arunachal West seat will be between 3-time Arunachal West MP and union minister Kiren Rijiju of BJP, former Arunachal CM, sitting Sagalee MLA and Arunachal Congress president Nabam Tuki and Tumke Bagra of Arunachal Democratic Party.

Key Highlights:

• 80 candidates are first-time candidates. The highest number of first-time candidates has been fielded by the Congress. Of its 19 candidates, 17 are new.
• BJP has fielded 14 new candidates, while the NPP has nominated 16 first-time nominees.
• 8 women candidates in fray — the highest in any Assembly election so far. Though it’s dismally low compared to other parts of the country. The BJP has fielded 4 women, while the Congress has fielded 3, and there is 1 female Independent candidate.



Illegal appointments in PHE & WS department: ACS seek termination of corrupt officials

In fact the ACS has sent a representation to Arunachal Pradesh Chief Secretary placing before the top official, a 3-point charter of demands.

18th May 2024
Arunachal: Vehicle movement restricted on Pinjoli bridge in West Kamreng

According to the Border Roads Task Force (BRTF), a bailey panel of the bridge has been displaced.

18th May 2024
Itanagar: 117 dog bite cases reported in 8 days

The Itanagar Municipal Corporation (IMC) has issued a statement urging people not to kill dogs and condemn such actions in the strongest terms.

17th May 2024
Arunachal civil society demands strict punishment for accused involved in inter-state sex racket, says “No one should walk out free”  

Arunachal civil society said that anyone involved in this, whether they come from an influential family or not, must face severe consequences.

16th May 2024
Arunachal Polls 2024: CEO P.K. Sain highlights preparations for counting day

The counting of votes for Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections will commence on June 2 at 6 AM, while for the parliamentary elections, it will begin on June 4 at 8 AM, this was informed by Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain.

16th May 2024