Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal Assembly polls 2024: CM among 5 BJP candidates likely to win unopposed

First Published: 28th March, 2024 10:09 IST

The Arunachal BJP has already congratulated Chief Minister Pema Khandu for being elected unopposed from the Mukto Assembly consituency.

The BJP in Arunachal Pradesh might be in for a big start. Even before the voting for the 60- member state Assembly has begun, reports are doing the rounds suggesting that Chief Minister Pema Khandu and 4 other BJP candidates are likely to win unopposed.

Infact, the Arunachal BJP has already congratulated Chief Minister Pema Khandu for being elected unopposed from the Mukto Assembly consituency. Taking to X, the state unit of the BJP extended wishes to CM Khandu and also thanked the people of Mukto constituency.

Not only this the Arunachal BJP has also congratulated 4 more BJP MLAs for getting elected unopposed.
They are-
Mutchu Mithi-Roing

Ratu Techi- Sagalee

Jikke Tako- Tali

Nyato Dukam- Taliha

In fact the Congress candidate for Tali Rughu Tado withdrew from the poll race earlier yesterday.

If Khandu wins uncontested, this will be his fourth straight win since 2011.

This seat is a family bastion for Pema Khandu. Pema’s father, former CM of Arunachal Pradesh, Dorjee Khandu had won from Mukto 5 times in 1990, 1995, 1999, 2004, and 2009 as Congress candidate.

Pema Khandu won the seat for the first time in 2011 unopposed after the death of his father in a chopper crash on 30 April 2011. He won the seat again unopposed in 2014. In 2011 and 2014 he won the seat as Congress candidate. He won the seat for the third time in 2019 as a BJP candidate. He will be contesting for the fourth time.

Congress had fielded SanheyPhutsok from the Mukto seat. It is not known why he did not file his papers.

So, things look very bright for the BJP in Arunachal. The party could be 5 seats ahead of its opponets even before a single vote is cast.

Union Minister Kiren Rijiju also congratulated CM Pema Khandu and the 4 other BJP leaders.

In a post on X Kiren Rijiju mentioned, “Arunachal Pradesh leads in showing the mood of the nation. On the last day of the nomination filing for the Assembly election, BJP has secured 5 candidates elected unopposed led by CM @PemaKhanduBJP ji from 3-Mukto Assembly Constituency.

  1. Sagalee Assembly Constituency: Shri Ratu Techi
  2. Tali Assembly Constituency: Shri Jikke Tako
  3. Taliha Assembly Constituency: Shri Nyato Dukom
  4. Roing Assembly Constituency: Shri Mutchu Mithi
    Tremendous development in the state due to the blessings of PM @narendramodi ji has generated so much support and blessings of the people.”

However, an official word from the Election Commission is still awaited as documents are still being scrutinised and the scrutiny of nominations will be done today.

The Congress had fielded Sanhey Phutsok against Pema Khandu. But the NPP did not field any candidate against Pema Khandu.
In the Sagalee constituency, both the Congress and NPP did not field any candidates. Notably, Congress MP candidate for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat Nabam Tuki had represented the Sagalee seat as an MLA 6 times.
In the Tali constituency, the Congress had fielded Rughu Tado against Jikke Tako of the BJP. The NPP did not field any candidate.
In the Taliha constituency, NPP’s Yorter Kamda was in fray against Nyato Dukom of the BJP. The Congress did not field any candidate in the constituency as per the 1st list of candidates announced so far.
In the Roing constituency, Muthcu Mithi was in fray against Chenge Mitpao of the Congress. But the NPP did not field any candidate in the seat. Mithi had represented the seat twice in 2014 and 2019 as an NPP MLA. But he joined the BJP earlier this February.



One killed in pre-poll violence in West Kameng district

The BJP has demanded cancellation of the candidature of the independent candidate whose supporters are said to be involved in the clash that led to the death of a BJP supporter

13th April 2024
Arunachal BJP leader Ninong Ering injured in road accident in Sille village of East Siang district

Ering sustained minor injuries on his head and hand and has been promptly taken to the hospital for medical attention.

13th April 2024
Battle for Arunachal West LS seat: Will speak against social, economic and political injustice, affirms Nabam Tuki

Former Arunachal CM Naban Tuki is the Congress candidate for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency

12th April 2024
Ladakh MP Jamyang T Namgyal in Arunachal, lauds PM Modi’s vision to develop Gelling as First Village

Ladakh BJP MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who is in the frontier state to drum up support for BJP candidates ahead of the Assembly and parliamentary elections in the state, also had the oppurtunity to travel to Gelling.

12th April 2024