Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal Assembly election: DY CM Chowna Mein all set to get elected unopposed

First Published: 30th March, 2024 15:21 IST

Speaking to Northeast Live Dy CM Chowna Mein confirmed about the development

Reported by Ripunjoy Das

The BJP has created a record of sorts as 10 of its candidates are all set to get elected unopposed, which includes the names of the frontier state’s Chief Minister Pema Khandu.

This time the deck is clear for Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein as his lone opponent Bayamso Kri of the Congress has opted out from the race.

Speaking exclusively to Northeast Live, Dy CM and BJP candidate Chowna Mein who is in fray from the Chowkham seat, himself confirmed the development.

According to Mein, he is not set to win but he has already won unopposed from the Chowkham Assembly constituency, although the Election Commission is yet to make an official statement.

“No it’s not that I am going to win I have been already declared unopposed (elected), the lone Congress candidate who was in the fray till the last moment, few hours ago he had come to the Returning Officer’s office and withdrew his candidature. Thereby I am declared unopposed (elected). For this reason I personally feel that this is due to my long years of service to the people of Arunachal Pradesh, the people of my constituency and the blessings of the people. So I am very happy and thankful to the people of my constituency also.

They (Congress) also thought that it is not worth to put a contest against me. So they voluntarily withdrawn their candidature,” Deputy CM Chowna Mein said while speaking to Northeast Live.

Chowna Mein’s political career began in 1995, after he was elected as a MLA from the Lekang (ST) Assembly Constituency. He won consecutively for 6 times from Lekang in- 1995, 1999, 2004, 2009, 2014.
In 2019, he changed his constituency and was elected as an MLA from the Chowkham constituency in 2019.

On May 29, 2019, Chowna Mein was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

The Arunachal BJP also has congratulated Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein via a post on X.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu, who filed his nomination from Mukto Assembly constituency, leads the list of BJP candidates set to be elected unopposed.

Well, this will be the fourth time that Khandu would be elected unopposed from his traditional seat of Mukto.

Significantly, Mutchu Mithi, who has joined the BJP only a few weeks ago from the NPP, is also set to be elected unopposed from the Roing seat.

Apart from Mukto and Roing, other constituencies where the BJP candidates are set to be elected unopposed are Sagalee, Tali, Taliha, Ziro Hapoli and Itanagar.

On Friday too the victory of 2 BJP candidates became sure after their opponents withdrew from the race.

First it was BJP’s Itanagar candidate Techi Kaso who got the unofficial go ahead following the rejection of the nomination of NPP’s Tai Tadap.

After that opponents of BJP candidate Dasanglu Pul who is contesting from the Hayuliang seat also withdrew their nominations. Dasanglu Pul’s Lok Jan Shakti Party opponent Thakjelium Tindya withdrew his nomination while Congress’ Bafutso Krong too withdrew his nomination.

Watch also: Chowna Mein speaks exclusively to Northeast Live soon after opponent withdraws from poll race



One killed in pre-poll violence in West Kameng district

The BJP has demanded cancellation of the candidature of the independent candidate whose supporters are said to be involved in the clash that led to the death of a BJP supporter

13th April 2024
Arunachal BJP leader Ninong Ering injured in road accident in Sille village of East Siang district

Ering sustained minor injuries on his head and hand and has been promptly taken to the hospital for medical attention.

13th April 2024
Battle for Arunachal West LS seat: Will speak against social, economic and political injustice, affirms Nabam Tuki

Former Arunachal CM Naban Tuki is the Congress candidate for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency

12th April 2024
Ladakh MP Jamyang T Namgyal in Arunachal, lauds PM Modi’s vision to develop Gelling as First Village

Ladakh BJP MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who is in the frontier state to drum up support for BJP candidates ahead of the Assembly and parliamentary elections in the state, also had the oppurtunity to travel to Gelling.

12th April 2024