Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

3 MLAs resign in poll bound Meghalaya

First Published: 5th January, 2023 18:20 IST

These resignations come amid a spat of resignations that the state has been witnessing in the run-up to the elections

In a big political development from poll bound Meghalaya, 3 MLAs — 2 from PDF and 1 from HSPDP, have tendered their resignations.

Among those who have tendered their resignations to Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh, inlcude Hamlet Dohling and Jason Sawkmie of People’s Democratic Front (PDF) and Samlin Malngiang of the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP).

This big development comes close on the heels of National People’s Party (NPP)’s S.G. Esmatur Mominin resigning from the Assembly and the party yesterday and joining TMC today.

Meghalaya has been witnessing a lot of political resignations and switching of sides in the past few months. iOn December 14, Independent MLA Samuel Sangma and three other legislators – Benedict Marak and Ferlin C.A. Sangma of the NPP and H.M. Shangpliang of the Trinamool Congress left their respective partiers and joined the BJP in New Delhi.

On December 19 and 29, 3 suspended Congress MLAs — Ampareen Lyngdoh (East Shillong), Mohendro Rapsang (West Shillong), and Kimfa Sidney Marbaniang (Rambrai Jyrngam) resigned and joined the NPP.

If reports are to be believed, 2 remaining suspended Congress MLAs – Mayralborn Syiem and P.T. Sawkmie are likely to join the United Democratic Party (UDP), a constituent of the NPP-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government.



M’laya Cong looking for allies?

Is the Congress looking for a pre-poll alliance ahead of the crucial assembly elections in the state?

28th January 2023
Meghalaya: TMC only alternative in the state to fight BJP: George B Lyngdoh

Meghalaya TMC leader from Umroi assembly constituency, Lyngdoh encouraged the party workers to work hard towards fulfilling the party's vision in the state

27th January 2023
BJP national VP and Meghalaya in-charge M Chuba Ao does not rule out alliance with TMC in the state

PM Modi, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh among top 20 star campaigners. PM Modi to visit state after February 10, attend rallies in Shillong, Jowai and Tura

27th January 2023
Meghalaya polls 2023: NPP heading for a single majority says Meghalaya CM, Conrad Sangma

With assembly elections just around the corner, the NPP is quite confident of sailing through in Meghalaya with a clear majority, NPP national president and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said speaking exclusively to Northeast Live.

26th January 2023
Meghalaya Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 55 Candidates. Check full list here

The party has fielded Shillong Lok Sabha MP Vincent Pala from the Sutnga Saipung constituency

26th January 2023