According to early trends in the counting of votes in Assam Assembly elections, the ruling BJP-led NDA surged ahead of the grand alliance spearheaded by Congress and is leading in 81 seats.

The Congress’ grand alliance is ahead in 39 seats, according to available trends.

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora is trailing in Gohpur.

Leader of opposition Debabrata Saikia, ministers and senior BPF leaders Pramila Rani Brahma and Chandan Brahma are also trailing in Nazira, Kokrajhar East and Sidli respectively.

BJP candidates are leading in 61 seats, while those of its ally AGP in 12 and UPPL in eight.

The Congress has established leads in 30 places and AIUDF in 11.

Assam has a 126-member assembly and 64 seats are needed for a simple majority.