Arunachal Pradesh legislative assembly speaker Pasang Dorjee Sona has been unanimously elected as chairman of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) India Region, Zone-III.

Outgoing chairman and speaker of the Assam legislative assembly, Hitendra Nath Goswami formally handed over the charge to Pasang D Sona.

Sona sought equal contribution from all the speakers to promote knowledge of the constitutional, legislative, economic, social and cultural aspects of parliamentary democracy.

Taking to Twitter, PD Sona said, “Truly humbled and honored to be elected as the Chairman of CPA India Region (Zone III). My sincere thanks to my predecessor Shri Hitendra Nath Goswami, Hon’ble Speaker Assam Legislative Assembly and Speakers of NE States for entrusting me with the responsibilities.”

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Pema Khandu also congratulated him on being elected as CPA chairman.

“Many Congratulations to Shri @pasang_sona ji, Hon’ble Speaker Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly for being elected as Chairman of CPA India Region (Zone III),” Khandu tweeted.