The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is heading towards a majority in the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) election in Assam. The saffron party has managed to grab 12 seats so far.

The BJP candidates have emerged victorious in five seats of Morigaon and Nagaon districts each. Two BJP candidates have also claimed two constituencies of Kamrup (Metro) district.

On the other hand, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has won the lone seat it had contested.

According to latest reports, Tiken Basumatary and Bhabesh Kathar from BJP have won the Phangari and Aampri seats respectively.

“I am from rural area. I will try to solve all the problems of my constituency,” said Basumatary.

Congress and Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha have failed to take the lead in any seat. In the last council election in 2015, Congress grabbed 15 seats out of the total 30 seats. While Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha won 10 seats, BJP and AGP grabbed 3 and 2 seats respectively.

This time, the ruling BJP contested in 35 of the 36 seats, leaving one for its alliance partner AGP while the Congress has put up candidates in 31 seats.