Meghalaya based Physics teacher, Rahul  S Chatterjee was conferred the National Award to Teachers 2020 on the occasion of Teachers’ Day.

The award was handed over by the Deputy Commissioner of East Khasi Hills, Matsiewdor War Nongbri at the DCs office while President Ram Nath Kovind connected virtually through video conferencing.

Chatterjee thanked his friends for always supporting him in his varied endeavours and the State government as well. He said that with this achievement has come new sense of responsibility and a renewed enthusiasm to delivery even better.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma took to Twitter to congratulate Rahul S Chatterjee on the achievement.

“Congratulations to Mr. Rahul Chatterjee, Asst. Lecturer (Physics) of Shillong Jail Road Boys’ Hr Sec School for being selected for the prestigious #NationalAwardToTeachers 2020 from #Meghalaya. We are proud of his achievements and we wish him all the best!,” Sangma tweeted.

State Education Minister Lahkmen Rymbui also congratulated Chatterjee on his feat and stated that he has contributed a lot to the education sector and enriched the lives of many students.

Chatterjee who  is an Assistant Lecturer of Shillong Jail Road Boys’ Higher Secondary School is the only teacher from Meghalaya to feature in the list of winners and among the 47 others nation-wide to receive the award.

It may be mentioned that along with Chatterjee, four other teachers from Northeast have also been selected for the award.