Five former MLAs who recently resigned from Congress, joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday during a function at the party office in Delhi.

The five state MLAs, including Okram Henry Singh, who is the nephew of CLP leader and former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, joined the BJP in presence party’s national general secretary Ram Madhav and Chief Minister N Biren Singh.

As many as 6 Congress MLAs had submitted their resignation from the legislative assembly and also quit the party last week.

Of the 6, barring Mohamad Nasir Khan, everyone joined the BJP today.

Following the joining, Madhav who is also the BJP’s in charge for the Northeast said the BJP-led coalition government is completely stable in the state and the next one and a half years will be a smooth run dedicated to the development and welfare of the people.