Ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s address to the nation on Tuesday, lockdown has been extended in three Northeast states of Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Meghalaya.

Lockdown in Arunachal Pradesh has been extended for another 16 days. The decision to extend the lockdown in the State was taken by the Arunachal government during a cabinet meeting today.

With this Arunachal Pradesh has become the first State in the Northeast to extend the lockdown. The state has recorded only one COVID-19 positive case so far.

Lockdown has also been extended in the hill state of Mizoram. The Mizoram Government also extended the lockdown till April 30.

The decision was taken during a cabinet meeting held today at the office of Chief Minister Zoramthanga.

Meanwhile, Meghalaya too has decided to extend the lockdown till April 30, after a Cabinet meeting held today.

Meghalaya is the third State from the Northeast region to extend lockdown.