Four Congress MPs from Assam – Pradyut Bordoloi, Ripun Bora, Abdul Khaleque and Gaurav Gogoi staged a protest inside the Parliament premises against proposed privatisation of the Numaligarh Refinery.

All the 4 MPs staged demonstration holding placards against privatisation of NRL. It may be mentioned that the BPCL holds 61.65 equity in the NRL.

The Numaligarh Refinery, located in Morangi in Assam’s Golaghat district is owned by the Numaligarh Refinery Limited. Bharat Petroleum, Oil India and the Assam government have their shares in the refinery.

Earlier, Pradyut Bordoloi had written to Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman opposing the proposed privatisation of Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited and NRL.