A day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in for the second time in a glittering ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the portfolios of the council of ministers has been announced.

The brand new cabinet will hold its first meeting at 5:30 pm on Friday evening. The Modi government today allocated portfolios to his new ministers.

BJP president Amit Shah is the new Union Home Minister and former Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman is the Finance and Corporate Affairs Minister. Former Home Minister Rajnath Singh takes over Defence and former Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar will take care of External Affairs.

The Union Cabinet for the 17th Lok Sabha includes 24 cabinet ministers, 9 ministers of state with independent charge and 24 Ministers of State (MoS).

There are 26 new faces in the council of ministers, including Home Minister Amit Shah and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar. The council of ministers also includes 6 women, three of whom were sworn-in as cabinet ministers.