Former India captain Gautam Gambhir and the skipper of Indian football team, Sunil Chhetri received their Padma Shri Awards from President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Saturday.

Gautam Gambhir and Sunil Chhetri are among the eight sportspersons conferred with the Padma Shri Award in 2019.

Gambhir took to social media on Saturday to thank both his critics and supporters after receiving the honour.

Meanwhile, President Ram Nath Kovind also presented Padma Shri to grassroots innovator from Assam, Uddhab Kumar Bharali for his contribution in science & engineering.

Archery star Bombayla Devi and basketball player Prashanti Singh also received the honour from President Kovind today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.