The 4th Manipur Statehood Day Women’s Polo Tournament began at the historic polo ground-Kangjeibung in Imphal on Thursday.

The inaugural match was played between Team Canada vs Indian Polo Association (IPA) while Manipur Women’s team took on Argentina.

Team Canada walloped IPA by a margin of 7/4 and Argentina knocked down Team Manipur by 3/5 in the opening match.

Altogether 6 teams, including four foreign teams clashed for this year’ edition of Manipur Statehood Day Women’s Polo Tournament.

The tournament was organised by All Manipur Polo Association and Huntre Equine with support from State Tourism department.

The final match of the tournament will be played on Manipur’s Statehood Day, which is a tribute to the women polo players of Manipur.

The event has grown in scale and participation since its inception in 2016 and now draws tourists from all over the world to Manipur as a polo tourism destination of India.