India defeated Bangladesh by 3 wickets in a last ball thriller to lift the Asia cup for the 7th time at the Dubai stadium on Friday. In a rematch of the 2016 final, the Bangla tigers played some brave cricket but yet again faltered when it mattered the most.

Bangladesh got off to a dream start scoring 120 runs in just 20 overs when part time spinner Kedar Jadhav got India back in the match by breaking the opening stand.

Liton Das played an exceptional knock of a 121 at more than a ‘run a ball’ as the Indian spinners piled on the agony at the other end chipping away at the wickets in regular intervals.

Kuldeep Yadav was the pick of the Indian bowler again picking up 3 wickets for 45 runs.

Centurion Liton Das’ lone hand ensured that Bangladesh set the Men in Blue a target of 223 runs which at the end proved to be a fighting one.

Chasing a seemingly modest target at the stage, the Indians got off to a flyer but the wickets of Shikhar Dhawan and Ambati Rayudu in quick succession pegged the defending champions back just a little.

Rohit Sharma as he’s done right throughout the tournament, looked in sublime form scoring freely off both spinners and pacers when Robel Hussain bowled a great over to remove the Indian skipper 2 runs short of another half century.

Suddenly under pressure, the Indian team responded with 2 crucial partnerships in the middle order, first of 53 runs for the 5th wicket between Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik and then of 52 runs between Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar to take the Indian team within sniffing distance of victory.