Polical drama in Karnataka came to an end today as Janata Dal Secular leader HD Kumaraswamy has sworn in as the 24th chief minister of Karnataka and Congress’ G Parameshwara as deputy.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal all attended the swearing in ceremony.

Prior to the ceremony UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed the newly elected Congress MLAs in Bengaluru.

Meanwhile, the BJP held a statewide protest against the ascension of the quote unquote unholy alliance of Congress and JD(S).

The Kumaraswamy government will have to survive the crucial floor test and the CM is likely to seek a trust vote as early as on Thursday.