Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

7 Lok Sabha MPs from Northeast take oath as Members of Parliament

First Published: 25th June, 2024 16:39 IST

Congress MP from the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat, Alfred Kanngam S Arthur also took oath in Manipuri.

7 Lok Sabha MPs from Northeastern states-Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland took oath as Members of Parliament today.

Congress MP from the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat, Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, a professor at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Delhi took oath in Manipuri, which is his mother tongue.

Congress MP from the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat, Alfred Kanngam S Arthur also took oath in Manipuri.

Other MPs from Northeast who took oath as MP in the parliament are –Congress MP from Tura, Saleng Sangma, Ricky Andrew Syngkon from Shillong Lok Sabha seat in Meghalaya, Sole Nagaland MP Supongmeren Jamir, sole MP from Sikkim Indra Hang Subba and sole Mizoram MP Richard Vanlalhmangaiha.

Yesterday, Union Minister of Ports, Shipping & Waterways and the former Chief Minister of Assam Sarbananda Sonowal who won the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat in Assam, Union Earth Sciences Minister Kiren Rijiju, who won the Arunachal Pradesh West seat for the 4th term secured over 180189 votes, and Arunachal East MP Tapir Gao also took oath as MPs in the Parliament.

Other MPs from Assam are:

Assam Cabinet Minister and BJP leader Parimal Suklabaidya who won the Silchar seat.

UPPL’s Jayanta Basumatary. He won the Kokrajhar seat.

AGP’s Phani Bhushan Choudhary. He won the Barpeta seat.

BJP’s Dilip Saika. He won the Darrang -Udalguri seat.

BJP’s Bijuli Kalita Medhi. She won the Guwahati seat.

BJP’s Amarsingh Tisso. He won the Diphu seat.

BJP’s Kripanath Mallah. He won the Karimganj seat.

BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa. He won the Kaziranga seat.

BJP’s Ranjit Dutta. He won the Sonitpur seat.

BJP’s Pradan Baruah. He won the Lakhimpur seat.

Congress MP from Jorhat, Gaurav Gogoi

Congress MP from Nagaon, Pradyut Bordoloi

Congress MP from Dhubri Rakibul Hussain



Manipur: ANSAM Alleges Violation of Reservation Norms by NSU Imphal, Demands Reservation Implementation in State’s Central Institutes

It said that all admissions procedures should be suspended until the issue was resolved

24th July 2024
Finally, Manipur CM meets protesting residents, assures Imphal-Andro road will be fixed soon

Manipur Chief Minister Biren Singh said funds have been sanction and the government is trying to release the work order soon.

23rd July 2024
Centre To Set Up 100 Branches Of India Post Payments Bank Across Northeast

IPPB's customer base has now reached 80 million, and the bank currently has 50 million accounts and operates hundreds of thousands of branches.

23rd July 2024
This road stretch of Manipur comes under 4 MLAs but the condition of the road is deplorable

Angry locals have closed the Imphal-Andro road, a key road, for the third day today but the 4 MLAs are nowhere to be seen

22nd July 2024
Why did Myanmarese Nationals in Manipur Jail Go on Hunger Strike?

Jail authorities are prepared to enforce force-feeding if detainees refuse food, adhering to jail regulations

22nd July 2024