Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Tripura: Sudip Roy Barman, Ashish Saha all set to join Congress today

Just a day after resigning as a Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA, Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Saha are all set to join the Congress in the national capital

Just a day after resigning as a Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA, Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Saha are all set to join the Congress in the national capital today.

Talking exclusively to Northeast Live Editor-in-Chief Wasbir Hussain, Sudip Roy Barman said that he will be meeting Congress high Command in Delhi today.

In a significant statement, the former BJP MLA stated that he will be meeting Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra at 9.30 am today following which he will be meeting Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi at 11 am today.

Also Read: Tripura police busts drug racket, nabs 2 peddlers

Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Saha stepped down as BJP MLAs yesterday.

They submitted their resignation to State Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty.

Roy Barman yesterday said he had taken the step in the interest of the people of the state.

He also said that the BJP government has failed to deliver the goods and that it was relieved to step down as an MLA.

Soon after resigning from the party, Roy Barman flew to Delhi.

He will return back to the state on February 12.

Also Read: Conrad Sangma reacts to Jairam Ramesh’ BJP’s B-team remark

First Published: 8th February, 2022 9:20 IST



Manipur: CM’s name not decided yet, indicates Th. Biswajit Singh

After holding crucial meetings with the BJP high command in New Delhi, party leader Thongam Biswajit Singh landed in Imphal this morning. The Thongju MLA, while speaking to the media, informed that the party high command will soon be taking a call on the formation of the new government in the state.  With the suspense […]

17th March 2022
Newly elected MLAs of Manipur Legislative Assembly to take Oath today

The elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will take oath of office today. The oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MLAs will begin at 11 am. The newly-elected MLAs include 32 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 7 from the National People’s Party (NPP), 6 from Janata Dal (United), 5 each from the Congress […]

14th March 2022
Assam Congress’ Debabrata Saikia accepts CM Sarma’s ‘district level party’ barb

After facing defeat in the recently concluded assembly elections in all the 5 states, coupled with the results of Majuli by-polls and Civil Polls, it appears like the Congress leaders of Assam are now slowly coming to terms with the party’s dismal political situation. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also one of […]

13th March 2022
Meghalaya: TMC leader Mukul Sangma lauds BJP for its performance in Assembly elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also received praise from an unlikely corner. Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and TMC leader Mukul Sangma has heaped praise on the BJP for its good show in the recently concluded Assembly elections. Lauding the saffron party’s performance, Mukul Sangma said that the BJP has scripted history, especially in Uttar […]

12th March 2022
Tripura: CPI (M) accuses BJP of attacking party workers

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI (M) in Tripura has alleged that the goons of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have attacked party supporters and resorted to vandalism across the state since March 10 following BJP’s landslide victory in four states in Assembly elections. CPI (M) state secretary and former MP Jitendra […]

12th March 2022