Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur Polls: Postal Ballots for cadres in designated camps

With only a few days left for the Manipur polls, the Election Commission of India is taking all steps to ensure every eligible voter gets an opportunity to cast their

With only a few days left for the Manipur polls, the Election Commission of India is taking all steps to ensure every eligible voter gets an opportunity to cast their votes. The Election Commission has allowed postal ballot voting for members of rebel groups that have signed Suspension of Operations with the government.

Under this arrangement altogether 2177 cadres from as many as 23 insurgent groups under Suspension of Operations can avail the postal ballot service from their designated camps. This was informed by joint CEO N Ramananda in a press briefing.

Currently, there are about 23 groups at 14 designated Camps in 3 electorate districts of Manipur namely Churachandpur, Kangpokpi & Chandel. Manipur goes to polls on February 27 and March 3rd.

However, the fresh Covid wave has made campaigning and canvassing difficult for political parties and candidates. The Election commission of India today extended the ban on election rallies and road shows till January 31 due to the Covid surge. EC had banned all physical rallies, roadshows, and padyatras owing to the surge in Covid-19 cases in parts of the country.

However, certain relaxations will be in place from January 28th for parties contesting in the first phase.

As such, the number of people allowed to take part in door-to-door campaigns has been raised to 10. Meanwhile, upto 500 people can take part in indoor meetings.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

First Published: 22nd January, 2022 20:54 IST



Manipur: CM’s name not decided yet, indicates Th. Biswajit Singh

After holding crucial meetings with the BJP high command in New Delhi, party leader Thongam Biswajit Singh landed in Imphal this morning. The Thongju MLA, while speaking to the media, informed that the party high command will soon be taking a call on the formation of the new government in the state.  With the suspense […]

17th March 2022
Newly elected MLAs of Manipur Legislative Assembly to take Oath today

The elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will take oath of office today. The oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MLAs will begin at 11 am. The newly-elected MLAs include 32 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 7 from the National People’s Party (NPP), 6 from Janata Dal (United), 5 each from the Congress […]

14th March 2022
Assam Congress’ Debabrata Saikia accepts CM Sarma’s ‘district level party’ barb

After facing defeat in the recently concluded assembly elections in all the 5 states, coupled with the results of Majuli by-polls and Civil Polls, it appears like the Congress leaders of Assam are now slowly coming to terms with the party’s dismal political situation. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also one of […]

13th March 2022
Meghalaya: TMC leader Mukul Sangma lauds BJP for its performance in Assembly elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also received praise from an unlikely corner. Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and TMC leader Mukul Sangma has heaped praise on the BJP for its good show in the recently concluded Assembly elections. Lauding the saffron party’s performance, Mukul Sangma said that the BJP has scripted history, especially in Uttar […]

12th March 2022
Tripura: CPI (M) accuses BJP of attacking party workers

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI (M) in Tripura has alleged that the goons of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have attacked party supporters and resorted to vandalism across the state since March 10 following BJP’s landslide victory in four states in Assembly elections. CPI (M) state secretary and former MP Jitendra […]

12th March 2022