Northeast India’s Only English And Hindi Satellite News Channel

Opposition announces the name of Yashwant Sinha for Presidential Polls

Yashwant Sinha, former union minister, has been selected as the joint Opposition candidate for the upcoming presidential polls.

Yashwant Sinha, former union minister, has been selected as the joint Opposition candidate for the upcoming presidential polls. Sinha is supposed to file nomination papers on June 27 at 11:30 am.

Sinha had joined the Trinamool Congress just ahead of the West Bengal elections 2021.

The Trinamool Congress decided to announce Sinha’s name ahead of the presidential polls.

The Opposition leaders met at the Parliament annexue meeting called by Sharad Pawar and agreed on Sinha’s name to vie for the post of India’s first citizen.

The meeting was attended by Congress, NCP, TMC, CPI, CPI-M, Samajwadi Party, National Conference, AIMIM, RJD and AIUDF.

Earlier names of NCP Supremo Sharad Pawar, Gopalkrishna Gandhi, and National Conference’s veteran leader Farookh Abdullah.

  “I am grateful to Mamataji for the honour and prestige she bestowed on me in the TMC. Now a time has come when for a larger national cause, I must step aside from the party to work for greater opposition unity. I am sure she approves of the step,” Sinha tweeted.

TMC Chief & West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratualed Sinha on his nomination.

“I would like to congratulate Yashwant Sinha on becoming the consensus candidate, supported by all progressive opposition parties. A man of great honour and acumen, who would surely uphold the values that represent our great nation,” Mamata Banerjee said.

Even with the joint candidature, Sinha’s victory is far from being realised.

With numbers on its side,  Prime Minister Narendra Modi led NDA is expected to ensure the victory of its candidate in the presidential elections.

The polls will be held on July 18 and the result will be declared on July 21. The counting of votes, will be held in Delhi.

First Published: 21st June, 2022 18:18 IST



BJP’s Rahul Narwekar new Maharashtra Speaker

The new Rebel Sena-BJP government scored another victory today when its candidate Rahul Narwekar was elected as the new speaker of the Maharashtra Assembly.

03rd July 2022
BJP National executive: Shah lauds SC ruling on PM Modi ‘historic’

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma who is in Hyderabad addressed a press briefing on the sidelines of the BJP executive meet today. Chief Minister Sarma spoke in detail about the economic resolutions that were discussed on the first day of BJP Executive meet. He also informed that on the second day of the meeting […]

03rd July 2022
Bomb brought as evidence explodes in Patna court

After the bomb explosion, the police official said one more box was kept in the room, causing panic inside the courtroom.

02nd July 2022
Assam CM visits Hyderabad to participate in BJP National Executive Meet

CM Sarma upon his arrival at the Hyderabad airport was accorded a warm welcome by the Bharatiya Janata Party workers there.

02nd July 2022
Eknath Shinde sworn in as Maharashtra Chief Minister

Eknath Shinde led government will resolve many issues which have been stalled for last two and a half years effectively.

30th June 2022