Northeast India’s Only English And Hindi Satellite News Channel

Tripura: 11 MLAs to take oath as cabinet ministers today

A day after Manik Saha took oath as Tripura Chief Minister, Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya will administer the oath of office to 11 cabinet Ministers at Raj Bhavan today at

A day after Manik Saha took oath as Tripura Chief Minister, Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya will administer the oath of office to 11 cabinet Ministers at Raj Bhavan today at 12 pm.

Reports suggest that of the 11 MLAs, nine are from the BJP and two from the Indigenous People`s Front of Tripura.

According to reports, all the ministers of the Biplab Kumar Deb cabinet, barring Mevar Kumar Jamatia of the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT), will find a place in the new cabinet.

It may be mentioned here that a rift has erupted between Jamatia, the minister for Tribal Welfare in the Biplab Kumar Deb government, and Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura supremo NC Debbarma.

Also Read: Manik Saha sworn in as Tripura’s 11th chief minister

Rampada Jamatia, a veteran tribal leader of the BJP and IPFT MLA Prem Kumar Reang have reportedly been included in the list of new cabinet ministers.

As per reports, the new Cabinet includes Jishnu Dev Varma, Ratan Lal Nath, Pranajit Singha Roy, Manoj Kanti Deb, Santana Chakma, Ram Prasad Paul, Bhagaban Das, Sushanta Chowdhury, Rampada Jamatia and IPFT’s NC Debbarma and Prem Kumar Reang.

It may be mentioned here that Mevar Kumar Jamatia has been removed from Cabinet following a rift between him and IPFT chief NC Debbarma,

Manik Saha was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tripura earlier on Sunday. The BJP legislative party meeting elected him as the legislature party leader on Saturday in the presence of the Central observers after Biplab Kumar Deb submitted his resignation, amid high drama.

Notably, the rejig in the Tripura Cabinet has come at a time when the state is likely to witness Assembly polls in March next year.



First Published: 16th May, 2022 11:22 IST



Tripura: BJP leaders appear to be discontented with Manik Saha’s nomination as next CM

Discontent seems to be brewing among some ministers and leaders within the BJP in Tripura over the appointment of Manik Saha as the next Chief Minister. Yesterday dramatic visuals were seen at the venue of the BJP legislature party meeting where Saha was chosen as the next Chief Minister. A Tripura BJP leader believed to […]

15th May 2022
Manik Saha to be sworn in as new Tripura CM today

Manik Saha is all set to take over as the next Chief Minister of Tripura. Saha would be sworn-in as the next Chief Minister at the Raj Bhawan today by Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya. Saha’s coronation as the next Chief Minister of Tripura is set to take place after Biplab Kumar Deb tendered his resignation […]

15th May 2022
1 yr of Himanta Biswa Sarma govt: MLAs meet of BJP led alliance underway in Kaziranga

The meeting is being held to review the progress of key projects besides a look back on things with the government set to complete one year in office on May 10.

05th May 2022
Meghalaya: NPP workers taking funds for non-existential ‘Ghost projects’, alleges Tura MDC

In a big development From Meghalaya, BJP leader and Tura MDC, Bernard N Marak has alleged that workers of the National People’s Party have been taking Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma and his sister, Tura MP Agatha K Sangma for a ride by extracting huge funds for non-existential “Ghost projects”. In a statement Marak said […]

02nd May 2022
Subal Bhowmick to lead Trinamool’s Tripura unit

The Trinamool Congress has announced its state committee in Tripura. While Subal Bhowmick has made named as the president of the TMC’s Tripura’s unit, Rajib Banerjee has been named as the state in-charge for TMC’s Tripura unit. A six member core committee has also been formed for TMC’s Tripura unit. Apart from Subal Bhowmick, the […]

29th April 2022