Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Nagaland: Dip in factional violence; DY CM Y Patton expects AFSPA to be lifted from more Police Station areas

First Published: 24th March, 2023 17:54 IST

Referring to the fact that the Centre had withdrawn the AFSPA from areas under the jurisdiction of 15 Police Stations in 2022, the Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister said,"the primary role

Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton today said it can be expected that the Armed Forces Special Powers Act might be removed from more police station areas in the state while he cited about a dip in factional violence in the state.

Referring to the fact that the Centre had withdrawn the AFSPA from areas under the jurisdiction of 15 Police Stations in 2022, the Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister said,”the primary role of maintaining law and order and tackling of insurgents has fallen on the shoulders of the Nagaland Police.”

Y Patton added,”As things continue to unfold and improve, with decreased factional violence, more Police Station areas can be expected to be removed from the application of AFSPA and Disturbed areas.”

However, the Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister also pointed out that if it happens than this would place additional burden and responsibility on the police. Y Patton said,”removal of AFSPA would mean curtailment of resources and fund allocation to Nagaland Police under the SRE schemes of Government of India. In this backdrop, the Nagaland Police may have to shoulder additional responsibilities, with slightly diminished resources.”

In March 2022, the Centre had accepted the recommendation of the MHA constituted committee to look into the withdrawal of AFSPA in a phased manner from the Nagaland. Following this, the Centre in a gazette notification said that the disturbed area tag was withdrawn from 15 police stations in 7 districts of the state.

In the Gazette Order, the MHA had listed 9 districts, including Mon, that will remain under the AFSPA for another six months. Parts of other districts will also continue to remain under AFSPA.

These districts are namely Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, Peren, and Zunheboto.

The disturbed area notification is in force in the whole of Nagaland from 1995.



Nagaland Govt dragging its feet on FNT: ENPO’s R Tsapikiu Sangtam

Sangtam said, “Since a new ENPO team has been elected and handing and taking of office is yet to be done, only after that it will be decided on the next course of action.”

09th July 2024
ENPO temporarily lifts ‘public emergency’ imposed on Feb 5

The apex body of eight Nagaland tribes took the decision at its meeting on July 3 and further stated that the suspension is subject to review in the event of compelling circumstances.

08th July 2024
New species of Horned frog discovered in Arunachal

The frog species has been named after the state’s Apatani tribe – Xenophrys apatani.

03rd July 2024
Nagaland: After resounding victory in ULB polls, NDPP says open for collaboration

Now, with Lok Sabha and ULB polls over, Minister of Power & Parliamentary Affairs, K.G. Kenye said the Political Affairs Committee will focus on the Naga issue.

03rd July 2024
Nagaland’s Ruopfuzhano Whiso to represent state at Miss Universe India 2024

Ruopfuzhano Whiso has won titles of Femina Miss India Nagaland 2018, Miss Kohima 2017 and was the first runner-up in Miss Nagaland 2017.

03rd July 2024