Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Meghalaya Cong MLA Kimfa Marbaniang set to resign, likely to join NPP

First Published: 28th December, 2022 20:18 IST

Marbanniang, a suspended Congress MLA, is likely to join the National People’s Party (NPP) led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma.

Ahead of Meghalaya Assembly polls early next year, another Congress MLA from Rambrai constituency, Kimfa Marbanniang is all set to resign from the party.

Marbanniang, a suspended Congress MLA, is likely to join the National People’s Party (NPP) led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma.

Marbanniang is among the five Congress MLAs – Cong Legislature Party leader Ampareen Lyngdoh, and MLAs PT Sawkmie, Mayralborn Syiem, and Mohendro Rapsang who had joined the MDA – Meghalaya Democratic Alliance backed by BJP in February this year, following which all of them were suspended.

On December 19, Congress leader and former Meghalaya minister Ampareen Lyngdoh and West Shillong MLA Mohendro Rapsang had quit the Congress party. Both the leaders joined the NPP.

Prior to that, in 2021, 12 Congress MLAs including former Meghalaya CM and senior party leader Mukul Sangma had left the party to join Trinamool Congress (TMC).

The Congress had won 21 seats and NPP 19 in the 2018 Assembly polls. BJP had won 2 but BJP out-smarted Congress to form the government in Meghalaya joining hands with NPP.

Also Read: Meghalaya’s HITO lodge FIR against TMC’s Kirti Azad for mocking PM Modi over Khasi dress



BJP national VP and Meghalaya in-charge M Chuba Ao does not rule out alliance with TMC in the state

PM Modi, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh among top 20 star campaigners. PM Modi to visit state after February 10, attend rallies in Shillong, Jowai and Tura

27th January 2023
Meghalaya polls 2023: NPP heading for a single majority says Meghalaya CM, Conrad Sangma

With assembly elections just around the corner, the NPP is quite confident of sailing through in Meghalaya with a clear majority, NPP national president and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said speaking exclusively to Northeast Live.

26th January 2023
Meghalaya Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 55 Candidates. Check full list here

The party has fielded Shillong Lok Sabha MP Vincent Pala from the Sutnga Saipung constituency

26th January 2023
Meghalaya TMC releases second list of candidates with 3 names

On Tuesday, TMC released its poll manifesto, making 10 pledges

25th January 2023
Meghalaya Polls 2023: TMC releases poll manifesto; makes 10 pledges. Full manifesto here

The TMC has made a lot of promises to the people of Meghalaya in its manifesto that the party announced today in Shillong ahead of the Assembly elections on February 27.

24th January 2023