Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

HSPDP announces first list of 7 candidates for Meghalaya Assembly elections 2023

First Published: 11th January, 2023 20:31 IST

In its second list, names of 5-6 candidates for East Khasi Hills constituencies will be announced

The Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) today released its first list of candidates, consisting of seven names for the upcoming elections to the 60-member Meghalaya legislative assembly which is likely to be held in February 2023.

The HSPDP is fielding Evalyne Kharbani from Mawhati assembly constituency, Primson Makdoh from Umsning constituency, Shakliar Warjri from Mawthadraishan constituency, Sanjied Kynsai Shangrit from Nongstoin constituency, K P Pangniang from Rambrai constituency, Methodius Dkhar from Mawshynrut constituency and Medalsing Lyngdoh would be contesting from Mawkyrwat constituency.

The HSPDP informed that they will file 10-12 candidates in the upcoming assembly elections. In its second list, names of 5-6 candidates for East Khasi Hills constituencies will be announced.

So far, Trinamool Congress, Congress, UDP and NPP (few candidates) have announced candidates for the upcoming polls.
TMC announced its first list of 52 candidates. The Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) announced its first list of 40 candidates (final list is awaited). The United Democratic People (UDP) so far announced 34 names. The UDP announced 32 names of candidates in its first list and the second list consist two names.

Copy edited by Lipika Roy

Also Read:

Meghalaya Polls 2023: MPCC to announce 40 names in 1st candidate list

Meghalaya Polls 2023: TMC announces first list of 52 candidates

Meghalaya: UDP announces second list



Meghalaya Polls: Mukul Sangma slams Conrad Sangma on border issue, terms it unacceptable

Mukul Sangma who filed his nomination for the Tikrikilla constituency, at first pointed out that the inter-state border issue with Assam is his party's primary bone of contention.

07th February 2023
Meghalaya Polls 2023: Mukul, James, Mawrie, Pyngrope, Shullai, Zenith, Hek, Mawthoh file nominations

Several key political leaders including Conrad Sangma’s brother and Meghalaya minister James Sangma, former CM Mukul Sangma filed their papers today

06th February 2023
Meghalaya CM & NPP president Conrad Sangma files nomination from South Tura, says there is a positive wave for NPP

“I see that NPP is heading towards getting absolute majority and we are confident that we will get”, said CM Sangma after filing nominations

04th February 2023
TMC will rid South Tura of ‘darkness’, says Richard M Marak

Richard Mrong Marak, took a jibe at the NPP over the party's comment against Mukul Sangma

04th February 2023
M’laya: TMC candidate Elgiva Rynjah’s exclusive chat with Northeast Live

Northeast Live Digital Head Oineetom Ojah caught up with Elgiva Rynjah, TMC candidate from North Shillong just before she filed her nominations.

04th February 2023