Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Fmr NPP MLA Mominin and BJP’s Syngkon joins TMC

First Published: 5th January, 2023 17:27 IST

Top Meghalaya TMC leader and former CM Mukul Sangma welcomed Esmatur Mominin and Syngkon to the party fold

The Trinamool Congress in Meghalaya got a shot in the arm after former NPP MLA from Phulbari Esmatur Mominin and BJP leader Robinus Syngkon joined the party today.

Top Meghalaya TMC leader and former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma welcomed Esmatur Mominin and Syngkon to the party fold, and expressed hope that the TMC will record a significant win in the upcoming assembly elections in the state.


Briefing newspersons, Esmatur Mominin said that several factors pushed him to leave NPP and join TMC.
Elaborating further, Mominin said, “During the last four and half years I was part of the government. There are many instances I was not happy with. I was not happy with the functioning of the incumbent government.”

One of the major issues that Mominin was unhappy about is the issue of teachers hired under Sarba Siksha Abhiyaan (SSA). “I requested many times to hike their salaries but it did not happen. There are many such things which forced me to leave NPP”.

Esmatur Mominin said that people of Garo Hills are extremely happy with the functioning of former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma. The former NPP MLA said, “People are very much attracted to Dr Mukul.”
Esmatur Mominin had tendered his resignation yesterday. His resignation was expected as the NPP had sidelined him and announced the name of former Congressman and Assembly Speaker Abu Taher Mondal as its candidate from Phulbari.

Estamur is the third NPP MLA to leave the party since November 2022. In November 2022, Benedict Marak, MLA from Raksamgre and Fairlene Sangma, MLA from Selsella had quit the NPP and joined the BJP.

Syngkon had won the Mowkaiaw seat in 2013 as an Independent and then joined the BJP in 2018.



M’laya Cong looking for allies?

Is the Congress looking for a pre-poll alliance ahead of the crucial assembly elections in the state?

28th January 2023
Meghalaya: TMC only alternative in the state to fight BJP: George B Lyngdoh

Meghalaya TMC leader from Umroi assembly constituency, Lyngdoh encouraged the party workers to work hard towards fulfilling the party's vision in the state

27th January 2023
BJP national VP and Meghalaya in-charge M Chuba Ao does not rule out alliance with TMC in the state

PM Modi, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh among top 20 star campaigners. PM Modi to visit state after February 10, attend rallies in Shillong, Jowai and Tura

27th January 2023
Meghalaya polls 2023: NPP heading for a single majority says Meghalaya CM, Conrad Sangma

With assembly elections just around the corner, the NPP is quite confident of sailing through in Meghalaya with a clear majority, NPP national president and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said speaking exclusively to Northeast Live.

26th January 2023
Meghalaya Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 55 Candidates. Check full list here

The party has fielded Shillong Lok Sabha MP Vincent Pala from the Sutnga Saipung constituency

26th January 2023