Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

BJP to contest all 60 seats in the upcoming elections in Meghalaya

First Published: 2nd February, 2023 13:52 IST

Ernest Mawrie will contest the election from West Shillong seat. Check the full list here

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Meghalaya will fight in all the 60 seats alone in the upcoming elections.
Meghalaya BJP president Ernest Mawrie declared the candidate list at the party headquarters in New Delhi today.

Ernest Mawrie will contest the election from West Shillong seat, while Benedict R Marak has given ticket to contest from Raksamgre Assembly constituency.

Former speaker of Meghalaya Assembly and former NPP candidate Martin M Danggo who joined BJP yesterday (February 1, 2023) will contest from the Ranikor seat.

Cabinet minister Sanbor Shullai will contest from South Shillong seat and former minister AL Hek will contest from the Pynthorumkhrah Assembly constituency.

Bernard N Marak will contest against Chief Minister and NPP president Conrad K Sangma from the South Tura constituency.

Here’s the full list of the candidates:

Meghalaya will go to polls on February 27, 2023. The counting of votes will be held on March 2, 2023.



Key Candidate: Lahkmen Rymbui (UDP) – Amlarem

In 2018, he won the Amlarem constituency as a UDP candidate with 14,766 votes, representing 50.10 percent of the total votes

25th February 2023
Key Candidate: Snaiawbhalang Dhar (NPP) – Nartiang

In 2013, he won from the Nartiang constituency on a Congress ticket

25th February 2023
Key Candidates: James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma (NPP) – Dadenggre

James Sangma, a prominent face in the National People’s Party, is the brother of Conrad Sangma, the Chief Minister of Meghalaya. Currently serving as a Cabinet Minister in Meghalaya, James Sangma is also the sitting MLA from the Dadenggre constituency. He has a stronghold on the seat, having emerged victorious in both the 2013 and 2018 elections. In 2018, he won by a margin of […]

25th February 2023
Key Candidates: Sanbor Shullai (BJP) – South Shillong

Sanbor Shullai is a member of the BJP and a Cabinet Minister in Meghalaya. He has been elected three times as the MLA from the South Shillong constituency, winning the 2018 election with a margin of 5,097 votes and 49.71 per cent of the vote. He previously won the same seat as a member of […]

25th February 2023
Key Candidate: Ernest Mawrie (BJP) – West Shillong

His opponents in the race for the West Shillong seat include the sitting MLA Mohendro Rapsang of the NPP, Bethleen Dkhar of the INC, Paul Lyngdoh of the UDP

25th February 2023