Northeast India’s Only English And Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur: Re-polling recommend for 9 poll stations in Churachandpur

Following several reports of clashes and proxy voting from parts of the state during the first phase of the Assembly election in Manipur on February 28, the district observers and

Following several reports of clashes and proxy voting from parts of the state during the first phase of the Assembly election in Manipur on February 28, the district observers and polling officers have recommended re-polling in nine polling stations in Churachandpur district.

However, the Election Commission of India is yet to take a final decision on re-polling at nine booths in Manipur where clashes were reported.

The nine polling stations where re-polling has been recommended include Songsang Mission School, Maite ME School and Tinsuong ME School in Thanlon Assembly Constituency, Majuron Kuki, Khoirentak, Molsang, Leinom in Henglep Assembly Constituency, and Teikot and Maukot in the Singhat Assembly Constituency.

Also Read: Manipur: Vehicle carrying poll security personnel meets with accident, 1 killed, 8 critically injured

Voting for the first phase of Manipur polls took place in a total of 1721 polling stations spread across 5 electoral districts under tight security cover.

While elections were by and large peaceful in some places, few incidents of EVM damage and alleged booth capturing attempts leading to preventive blank firing by security personnel were reported from 51-Saitu, 57-Henglep and 60-Singhat Assembly Constituencies.

The second phase of polling in Manipur will take place on March 5.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.


First Published: 2nd March, 2022 13:51 IST



Tripura: Agreement of IPFT with Tripura apolitical: NC Debbarma

Following allegation from former minister and IPFT MLA Mevar Kumar Jamatia that it was IPFT president NC Debbarma who had signed an agreement with the Pradyot Debbarma-led Tipra Motha for a merger, the veteran IPFT leader today admitted that an agreement was indeed signed. N C Debbarma, however, claimed that the agreement was signed before […]

20th May 2022
Meghalaya: NPP intact & ready for 2023 polls

Meghalaya NPP president WR Kharlukhi today said that his party is intact and will go all out to fight the 2023 assembly election. Kharlukhi made this statement when reports are doing the rounds that leaders including MLAs of different parties are mulling to jump ship. Kharlukhi infact appreciated the fact that former Chief Minister and […]

20th May 2022
Arunachal Pradesh: Rains trigger landslides in Itanagar

Incessant rainfall has wreaked havoc in Arunachal Pradesh’s capital Itanagar. Massive landslides have struck the Ganga Basti area in Itanagar. Huge portions of houses were washed away in the landslide which took place last night. In another video captured from Ajing Colony near Polytechnic College in Itanagar. Residents of a damaged house lamented how it […]

20th May 2022
Rescue & Relief operations continue in Dima Hasao

Relief and rescue operations are continuing in flood hit Dima Hasao district. Today an Indian Air Force chopper landed in Haflong carrying 20 NDRF personnel and 1.5 tonnes of equipment and essentials. Remaining stranded people are also being rescued by the Air Force. Government and airforce along NDRF are running daily operations to rescue stranded […]

20th May 2022
Assam Floods improving gradually: Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma

Assam Floods has shown marginal improvement. This was informed by Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma who is constantly monitoring the situation. Chief Minister Sarma also said that the concerned authorities are working round the clock to restore road communication in landslide and flood affected areas. Besides, the Assam Chief Minister also informed that food items […]

20th May 2022