Northeast India’s Only English And Hindi Satellite News Channel
Last Updated: 4th April, 2022 12:40 IST

Assam Rajya Sabha election 2022 Results: BJP wins both seats

Both candidates by the BJP and its ally United People’sParty Liberal (UPPL) have emerged victorious for the two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam. After much drama and politicking, the results

Both candidates by the BJP and its ally United People’sParty Liberal (UPPL) have emerged victorious for the two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam.

After much drama and politicking, the results were finally announced late last night in which it was declared that BJP’s Pabitra Margherita won with 46 votes while UPPL’s Rwngwra Narzary has won with 44 votes.

Meanwhile, it will now be for the first time that Congress will not be sending any MP to the Rajya Sabha from Assam with Ripun Bora losing.

Also Read: Centre’s decision to curtail AFSPA evokes a positive response

Amid blazing blame game and conspiracy theories, Ripun Bora had to face defeat while managing to secure just 35 votes. While allegations of cross-voting were doing the rounds with Congress and AIUDF leaders blaming each other, one vote by Congress MLA Jadab Swargiary was disqualified, while Congress MLA Sashikanta Das openly declared having voted for the BJP and UPPL candidates.

Soon after the results came out, Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma formally announced the results declaring the victory of the BJP and UPPL candidates.

Meanwhile, right after the results came out, Congress candidate Ripun Bora accepted defeat but also called the results as death of democracy.

Also Read: Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma ranked among 100 national influential leaders of India

On the other hand, CLP leader Debabrata Saikia raised fingers at the AIUDF who were supposed to have their back in the Rajya Sabha polls. Talking to the media, Saikia said that only one Congress MLA has betrayed their trust and rest have voted for Ripun Bora.

The AIUDF has hit back at the Congress over the blame game arising out of the Rajya Sabha polls. Reacting to the allegations of betrayal by the Congress on the AIUDF, party MLA Rafikul Islam said that the Congress is blaming the AIUDF to cover up for their own mistakes.

Meanwhile, talking about the victory in the Rajya Sabha elections, CM Sarma said that they were assured of a good victory the moment they saw the Congress and the AIUDF fighting among themselves right upto the moment of voting.

CM Sarma said that it was at that moment that they realised that they would win by a good margin.

Also Read: Centre reduces areas under AFSPA in Assam, Manipur & Nagaland

Further targeting the Congress, CM Sarma said that while Congress has stated that the results of the election are a murder of democracy, they have themselves murdered democracy within their own party. CM Sarma said that by issuing a whip within the party Congress has murdered democracy within themselves and should introspect among themselves.

CM Sarma also called the Congress-AIUDF alliance as an unholy alliance.

He said that by allying themselves with the AIUDF, the Congress party has lost all credibility and this reflects in the election results.

First Published: 1st April, 2022 9:14 IST



Hriday Hazarika clinches junior 10m Air Rifle Gold at World Championships

Assam’s young shooting brigade Hriday Hazarika clinched the top position by winning a gold medal in 10m Air Rifle men’s junior event at the International Shooting Sport Federation World Championships in South Korea today. Earlier, the little champ has bagged a gold medal in men’s 10m air rifle at the SSF Junior World Cup at […]

07th September 2018
NIA releases list of ‘Most Wanted’ fugitives; over 50 from Northeast

The NIA (National Investigation Agency) has released a list of most wanted fugitives, over 50 names from the Northeast figure in the NIA’s most wanted list of dreaded insurgent group leaders. Rebel leaders including ULFA-Independent Commander-in-Chief Paresh Baruah, Isak Sumi of the NSCN-K, Mangshi Ramson of the NSCN-IM, Bidai of the NDFB-S feature in the […]

22nd October 2018
State Govt. to preserve Dr. Bhupen Hazarika’s house in Kolkata

Coming off in the same process, the Assam state government sought to preserve the house of eminent writer Lakhminath Bezbaruah’s residence in Odisha last year, a similiar process will be undertaken to preserve noted singer Dr. Bhupen Hazarika’s house in Kolkata. This was stated by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal at a public Bihu function in […]

23rd April 2018
Assam postpones HSLC, HS examination amid rising Covid cases

In view of the current COVID-19 situation in Assam, the Assam Higher Secondary Education Council (AHSEC) postponed higher secondary final examinations, scheduled to be held from May 11. Meanwhile, the Matric and High madrassa examinations has also been postponed indefinitely. Board of Secondary Education Assam (SEBA) has postponed the High School Leaving Certificate (HSLC) examinations […]

04th May 2021
President Ram Nath Kovind arrives in Guwahati on a 3-day state visit

President Ram Nath Kovind has arrived on a three-day visit to Assam. The President was received by Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Governor Jagdish Mukhi. Currently, President Kovind is heading towards the Kamakhya temple accompanied by Governor Mukhi and Chief Minister Sarma. President Kovind said he would be kick-starting the celebrations to mark the […]

25th February 2022