Assam : CM Sarma announces the name of 19 awardees for this year’s civilian awards

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma today announced the names of the recipients of the new civilian awards by the Assam government. Addressing a press meet, CM Sarma gave out the prizes and benefits of the awards. He said that the awards would be given every year on Assam Diwas. A portal would be opened up for the purpose and the public can give in suggestions for nominations to the awards. This year, a total of 19 persons will be receiving all three categories of awards. This year’s awards would be given on January 24 next year. From next year onwards the awards would be given on Assam Diwas each year, which falls on December 2.

Talking about the Assam Vaibhav Award, which is the highest civilian award to be given by the Assam government, the Assam CM announced that this year the honour would go to Tata Group chairman and philanthropist Ratan Tata. CM Sarma said here that Tata has been given the award for making significant contributions to improving the cancer hospitals in Assam. The Assam Vaibhav Award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakhs and the recipient can avail medical treatment throughout his life at government expense.

Talking about the second-highest civilian award of Assam, the Assam Saurav Award, Chief Minister Sarma said that the award carries prize money of Rs 4 lakhs. The recipients can avail themselves of medical treatment at government expense up to Rs 3 lakhs each year. This year, five persons would be awardedz the Assam Saurav Award.

Coming to the third-highest civilian award which is the Assam Gaurav Award, CM Sarma announced that a total of 13 recipients would be honoured with the award. The Assam Gaurav Award carries a cash prize of Rs 3 lakhs and also avails medical treatment up to Rs 3 lakhs each year for its recipients.
The following are the name of the awardees in the three categories:

Assam Baibhav Award:

Ratan Tata

Assam Saurav Award:

Professor Kamalendu Deb Krori- Educationist
Dr. Lakhsmanan S- Public Service
Professor Dipak Chand Jain- Business Management
Lovlina Borgohain- Sports
Neel Pawan Baruah- Art & Culture

Assam Gaurav Award:

Munindra Nath Ngatey- Public Service & Vaccination
Dr. Basanta Hazarika- Health & COVID Management
Akash Jyoti Gogoi- Poultry Farming
Manoj Kr. Basumatary- Piggery Farming
Khorsing Terang- Sports & Mountaineering
Boby Hazarika- Woman Entrepreneur
Hemoprabha Chutia- Weaving
Namita Kalita- Health & Public Service
Bornita Momin- Public Service
Dharanidhar Boro- Wildlife Conservation
Kaushik Baruah- Agro Exporter & Entrepreneur
Kalpana Boro- Public Service
Asif Iqbal- Health & Medicine