Tripura Municipal Elections 2021: Voting for 222 seats underway in Agartala & other municipal areas

Voting for 222 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and other municipal bodies along with six Nagar Panchayats in Tripura began at 7 am today amid tight security arrangements.

The election commission has set up more than 700 polling stations across the state for smooth elections.

There are a total of 785 candidates in the fray, including those from the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition parties such as the Congress, Trinamool Congress (TMC), and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

There are also reports that the CPIM may move to the Supreme Court over allegations of intimidation of its workers where they are being stopped from exercising their franchise.

The polling stations have been divided into A and B categories with 4 TSR personnel being deployed in each A category polling station and 4 armed police personnel being deployed in each B category polling station.

Moreover, following the directive of the Supreme Court additional 15 sections of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) are have been deployed across the state for the polls.

Notably, while the ruling BJP has already won 112 of the total 334 seats uncontested, it’s a battle of prestige for them in the remaining seats with the Trinamool Congress (TMC) making an all-out effort to make a mark ahead of the Assembly elections.

A total of 5,94,772 voters are eligible to vote in the municipal poll, with female voters outnumbering male voters in urban areas.

Meanwhile, as of 11 am, 21.79 percent of polling was recorded, as per reports.
The counting of votes will be held on November 28.