Massive blow to Congress in Meghalaya, Mukul Sangma, 11 others join Trinamool

In what comes as a fatal blow to the Congress in Meghalaya, former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has left the party along with 11 other MLAs and joined the All India Trinamool Congress.

As per inputs, Mukul Sangma along with 11 other Congress legislators submitted their letter of resignation to Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh last evening announcing their merger with the TMC.

Sangma is set to brief the media today to officially announce the move. Sources said that he may also travel to Mairang to meet Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh.

Among those who joined the TMC along with Sangma are all 8 party legislators from Garo Hills and four legislators from Khasi-Jaintia hills.

The leaders who deserted the party from Garo Hills are Rangsakona MLA Zenith Sangma, Mahendraganj MLA Dikkanchi Shira, Ampati MLA Miani Shira, Salmanpara MLA Winnerson D Sangma, Mendipathar MLA Marthon D Sangma, Tikrikilla MLA Jimmy D Sangma and Chokpot MLA Lazarus Sangma.

MLAs from the Khasi-Jaintia Hills region who left the Congress include, Nongthymmai MLA Charles Pyngrope, Umroi MLA George B Lyngdoh, Mawsynram MLA Hima Shangpliang and Sutnga Saipung MLA Shitlang Pale.

The switchover has dealt a near-fatal blow to the Congress which faces an existential threat in a state which was in more than one way its last bastion in the Northeast.