New Party Chief for Tripura Congress

With barely one-and-half-year left for the Tripura Assembly polls, All India Congress Committee chief Sonia Gandhi on Friday appointed former MLA Birajit Sinha as new president of the Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee.

Sinha replaced senior advocate Pijush Kanti Biswas, who assumed the post in December last year. In a statement issued by AICC, the Congress appreciated the contribution of outgoing acting president Pijush Kanti Biswas.

The move comes weeks after Biswas offered to tender resignation from his post, alleging non-cooperation from party colleagues. However, his resignation was later held after intervention from All India Congress Committee’s Tripura in-charge Dr Ajay Kumar.

Biswas was named as the acting president of Congress in Tripura in December 2019 after the then state Congress chief Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma resigned over differences with state leaders.

In addition to that, the Congress has also appointed five working presidents, namely former minister Mohammed Billal Miah, Manik Deb, Sushanto Chakravarty, Purnita Chakma, and Pradeep Bardhan, for the Tripura unit.

The AICC chief has also approved the constitution of the PCC with 10 vice presidents, 18 general secretaries and 29 secretaries.