Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi has appointed N Loken Singh as the president of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee.

Loken Singh was earlier appointed interim chief of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee following the resignation of party leader Govindas Konthoujam as the president of Manipur unit of the party .

The AICC chief has also appointed Keisham Meghachandra Singh, Irengbam Hemochandra Singh and D Korungthang as working presidents. Notably, Loken Singh, Meghachandra Singh, and Korungthang are all sitting MLAs.

Meanwhile, the Congress president has also approved formation of executive committee of Manipur PCC.

It is worth mentioning here that the appointment assumes significance as Assembly elections in Manipur is expected to be held in February-March next year.