West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday filed her nomination for by-polls to Bhabanipur assembly seat. The TMC chief will be pitted against BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and Left Front’s Srijib Biswas.

The by-election in Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency in West Bengal will be held on September 30, as per the schedule announced by the Election Commission of India.

The counting of votes will be on October 3.

The Bhabanipur assembly seat was vacated by the West Bengal Agriculture Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay in May, making way for CM Banerjee to contest from Bhabanipur seat.

The West Bengal CM, who lost the election in Nandigram, has to win this by-poll to retain the chief minister’s post.

CM Banerjee is a resident of Bhabanipur and had won the seat twice in 2011 and 2016.

Amid the ongoing political tensions between BJP and TMC in Bengal, the announcement by the poll body has again compelled both the main parties to initiate debate for the by-polls.

Meanwhile, the Model Code of Conduct is in force in the districts, in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency is going for election.