The Election Commission on Thursday announced bypolls to seven Rajya Sabha seats including Assam, which fell vacant due to various reasons. 

The bypolls to all seats will take place on October 4.

According to a notification issued by ECI, polls will be held in two seats in Tamil Nadu and one each in West Bengal, Assam, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Madhya Pradesh.

In Assam, the Rajya Sabha seat held by assembly speaker Biswajit Daimary fell vacant after he resigned from the membership of the upper house of Parliament and his earlier party, the Bodoland People’s Front, and joined the BJP.

As per reports, BJP is likely to field Union Minister and former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from the Assam seat.

The Election Commission has informed that polls shall be complete by October 6, 2021.

The EC order said that “broad guidelines of COVID-19” have to be followed during the election process, that is from the time of issue of notification to the counting of votes.