The first expansion of the Biplab Deb-led cabinet took place at the Raj Bhawan in Agartala on Wednesday afternoon.

Three MLAs – Ram Prasad Paul, Sushanta Chowdhury and Bhagaban Das were inducted to the 12-member Biplab Deb cabinet in presence of BJP’s Northeast Zonal Secretary – Vinod Sonkar, BJP National general secretary Dilip Saikia, National General Secretary Ajay Jamwal and state Pravari Phanindranath Sarma.

Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya administered the oath of office to the new ministers.

Taking to Twitter, CM Biplab Deb wrote, “Extend heartiest wishes to my colleagues- Sh. Ramprasad Paul, Sh. Sushanta Chowdhury & Sh. Bhagaban Das who took oath today as a Minister of the State Government of Tripura. Together, we shall continue to strive for fulfilling aspirations of the 37 lakh people of #Tripura.”

The cabinet expansion comes at a time when the BJP is staring at an internal crisis of sorts in Tripura with former Health Minister Sudip Roy Barman openly expressing his reservations over the policies of Chief Minister Biplab Deb.

As such, it was not surprising that Roy Barman was not to be seen in he swearing in ceremony at the Raj Bhawan.

Meanwhile, speaking to media persons after the oath taking ceremony, Tripura CM Biplab Deb expressed hope that the young leaders inducted into the cabinet will prove to be assets.